Never Get Used To It

Another day, another atrocity. No, I’m not going to “get used to it.” I’m no more going to “get used to it” than I’m going to get used to smoking bans. It’s nearly 10 years since the UK smoking ban came into force, and I’m no more used to it today than I was 10 years ago. And if there are going to be regular atrocities in the UK for the next 10 years, it’ll be exactly the same: I’m never going to get used to them. I’m going to get angrier and angrier.

I fell asleep angry last night, and I woke up angry this morning. And I’ll probably stay angry all day. The latest atrocity was almost certainly the work of Islamic terrorists. These things always are. I read a few days ago somewhere that there are about 23,000 of them in the UK. And I wouldn’t be surprised if all 23,000 have been personally greeted by Jeremy Corbyn, and handed the keys to a council house, and given a half ton of nails and TNT to kick-start them on their bomb-making careers.

Because people like Jeremy Corbyn want to destroy Britain. They hate it. They probably even hate its oak trees and hedges and rolling hills. People like him want to eradicate everything, and start all over again. He probably wants to turn all the churches into mosques, and the Crown into a caliphate. The little shit voted for the smoking ban, of course. And the smoking ban is as much a cultural war on Britain as everything else these people do. Banning smoking is what comes before banning oak trees, banning churches, banning kings, and banning the English language.

Our real enemies aren’t the Islamic terrorists. Our real enemies are the people who invited them all in, and want to keep them here as their paid mercenary army. Our real enemies are people like Jeremy Corbyn, who’s probably saying right now that the terrorists have “got rights”, and it’s one of their sacred “cultural traditions” to drive trucks through crowds of people.

So I’m puzzled that, according to opinion polls, there seems to be an outside possibility that this poisonous little reptile might actually become the next UK Prime Minister.

How did that happen? When Theresa May called a snap election 3 weeks ago, the Conservatives were enjoying a 20 point lead over Labour, and looked set to win a landslide victory. Now the lead has dropped to 1 point. What happened over the past 3 weeks to turn that around? I think the Conservative plan (now ditched) to confiscate the assets of the elderly in order to pay for the “healthcare” they’ll no longer get in their No Smoking care homes might have been part of it. I also read somewhere that the Conservatives were going to regulate the internet, which means censoring it. Both of these proposals would have been enough to turn me away from voting Conservative. Maybe they had the same effect on many Conservative voters.

Or is it that lots of Conservatives have suddenly come to see the merits of poisonous little shits like Jeremy Corbyn, and want more Islamic terrorists shipped into the country, and want to join him in waging cultural war on everything British, particularly smoking?

After UKIP dropped their proposal for smoking rooms in pubs from their manifesto, I was hoping to sit out this election, and for the first time ever not vote for anybody. Why should I want to vote for any party, when they’re all antismoking parties? At least when smoking and drinking Nigel Farage ran UKIP, we smokers had someone to vote for. But as soon as he stepped down as leader, the antismoking scum promptly took over, and removed that option. They probably never realised that if half of Nigel Farage’s attraction was that he was anti-EU,  the other half was that he was a smoker and drinker. Or maybe they did realise, but they only ever joined UKIP because wanted to destroy it, just like Douglas Carswell.

Now I’m thinking that next Thursday I’m going to have to vote to keep Corbyn out. Such a prospect was unthinkable only 3 weeks ago.

But I’m not sure if I believe opinion polls these days. They always seem to get things spectacularly wrong. Last year they predicted that the British wouldn’t vote for Brexit, but they did. And they also predicted that Hillary Clinton would win the US presidential election, but she didn’t. I’m beginning to think that opinion polls are just being used to manipulate voters.  And it’s not that Brits have changed their mind about Corbyn over the past 3 weeks, but that they’re being told that Corbyn might win, and that will be enough to bring out the Conservative vote, and scare enough ex-UKIP voters like me to vote for a Conservative party that is going to not only carry on the savage global war on smokers, but also confiscate their assets and close down the internet. We’re probably all being duped. Which is another reason to feel angry.

Call me cynical, but I expect that next Thursday Britain is going to hand Theresa May the landslide victory she wanted. But she’ll win it for the exact same reason that Donald Trump won the US presidential election: the alternative was too unbearable to contemplate. Because Hillary Clinton and most people in the Democrat party hate America and everything it ever stood for (and in particular tobacco) just as much as Jeremy Corbyn and most people in the Labour party hate Britain and everything it ever stood for. It didn’t used to be that way, either in America or in Britain. Now it’s the same story everywhere. You’re either a globalist who wants to undermine and destroy your native country, or you’re a patriot who wants to preserve and protect it. And there’s an ever-widening gulf between the two sides.

About Frank Davis

smoker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Never Get Used To It

  1. Mark Jarratt, Canberra, Australia says:

    Yes the ‘real enemies’ are the elected elites who believe their role is to signal politically correct virtue by pandering to single issue extremists, including monomaniac tobacco prohibitionists. When all major political parties, as in Australia, clearly state their policies include continued bullying and persecution of citizens who choose to be tobacco consumers, where can the bullies turn. ‘Choice’ of Tweedledum and Tweedledummer is Buckleys choice.

  2. Mark Jarratt, Canberra, Australia says:

    Correction: where can the bullied (i.e. readers of this fine blog and other smokers) turn.

  3. Timothy Goodacre says:

    Yes its absolutely essential that everyone votes on Thursday to keep Corbyn and his poisonous shits out. You have brilliantly distilled what Corbyn stands for !

  4. barnacle bill says:

    “it is time to say enough is enough” Saint Theresa is quoted as saying in response to the latest Islamic/Muslim attack upon us.

    Well perhaps she could make a start by closing down every one of the Sharia courts she allowed whilst at the Home Office. After all Saint Theresa actions speak louder than words.

  5. Pingback: Hace 1300 veranos | Contra la ley "antitabaco"

  6. Clicky says:

    • margo says:

      Cheers, RooBeeDoo!
      And good news from me on the dental front: Yesterday I visited a new dentist. After we’d said hello, I said: “Before we start, can I make a request?” She smiled and nodded, and I said, pleasantly and quietly: “Can we please not talk about smoking? Because I am 75, I have been smoking for 60 years and there is nothing you can tell me about smoking that I don’t know – I could tell you a lot about it that you probably don’t know. And any word you say to me about it will be a waste of your breath and our time.”
      She looked at me and said nothing.
      “This is my dental problem,” I said …..
      That was it. She treated me well, and not a word was said.
      This is what I’m going to do, from now on, with every medical person I have to see.

  7. margo says:

    And leg Iron and RoobeDoo have done a fine job with my book. I hope everyone will enjoy it!

  8. Joe L. says:

    I also read somewhere that the Conservatives were going to regulate the internet, which means censoring it. Both of these proposals would have been enough to turn me away from voting Conservative.

    Well, Frank, it appears Theresa May is using yesterday’s terrorist attack as an excuse to double-down on the supposed “need” for regulating the internet:

    Theresa May says the internet must now be regulated following London Bridge terror attack

    Why should I want to vote for any party, when they’re all antismoking parties?

    I’m with you, Frank. As an independent American, I refuse to vote for the “lesser of two evils.” I want to give my vote to someone I actually agree with. I was envious that Britain had a seemingly decent independent option (with enough support and exposure to actually be a contender) in UKIP for a handful of years. Unfortunately, since it appears UKIP has lost its way (has been sabotaged?), the current British political scene seems no better than the American one.

    This upcoming election is looking worse every day. Britain is faced with a win-win situation for the Globalists and a lose-lose for its citizens. A vote for Corbyn is a vote to overtly destroy British culture; a vote for May is a vote to quietly eradicate your freedom of speech. Is one of these evils really “less than” or “better” than the other?

  9. Judd says:

    This is the most desperate bunch i ever thought i’d have to choose between, desperate main party leaders with not a single plus point between them.
    I can’t vote UKIP because our sitting tory is proper Brexiteer, even if a tiny minority in the shambles that is his party, and UKIP won’t stand against him.
    So do i give him my vote because he’s a decent stick, even though it means endorsing May’s coming Brexit Betrayal, decisions decisions.

    I just want to vote for something and not be forced to choose between the least worse of three foul evils.

  10. smokingscot says:

    The latest I can get is there are 50 people still in hospital because of the Manchester bomb, with 17 of them in critical condition, meaning they’re on some sort of life support system.

    I’m sure I’m not the only one who noted that only photos of three children were posted when Ariana Grande visited them in hospital. With others she’s seen visiting family members.

    I take from this there are some severe disfigurements.

    Of the London knife attack there are 48 in hospital with 21 classed as critical. Several have posted on Facebook that they’re unable to speak because they got a knife in their neck. They will be able to do so soon, but they’re the ones who have posted.

    Again I believe there will be severe disfigurements and some who were mown down by the rental van (a big bastard Transit that weighs in at about 1,900 kgs, add three passengers, fuel and 40 mph speed and you’ve got a weapon) will be badly crippled.

    The sheer wanton damage and callous disregard, simply to be classed as a “fighter of the caliphate” pisses me off… a lot.

    And Ramadan 2017 runs from 26 May through to 24 June. The “religious leaders” in Daesh have called for this one to be the bloodiest ever. So we’ve got three more weeks of nutcases all over the world to contend with.

    “Call me cynical… ”

    Checked what that means.

    “believing that people are motivated purely by self-interest; distrustful of human sincerity or integrity.”

    Or.

    “concerned only with one’s own interests and typically disregarding accepted standards in order to achieve them.”

    I’d say that in this case, indeed with all to do with politics as well as tobacco control, being cynical is the only way to stay sane.

    So amongst us lot it’s not an accolade, just a statement of fact.

  11. Joe L. says:

    OT: Move over Kathy Griffin, Bill Maher wants a turn. Maher, the Progressive “comedian” and talk show host (and ex-smoker) made a tasteless joke using the word “nigger” on his program, and it doesn’t look like he’s even going to lose his job over it.

    These frauds propagandize Political Correctness, but they need not abide by it themselves? Progressives are utter hypocrites.

    It’s also ironic to note that Maher once hosted a program called “Politically Incorrect,” but that was apparently before he converted to Progressivism (and while was still somewhat funny, and also, I believe, before he quit smoking).

    Progressives should have thought twice before recruiting Maher as a celebrity spokesman. It appears some of their base have seen through his façade for a while.

  12. jaxthefirst says:

    Yes, I do think that May has shot herself in the foot on a few occasions during this campaign and it may well have cost her a few votes, and I also think that Corbyn and his Labour cronies have had a better campaign by comparison – loathe though I am to admit it. But I think that the very close-run possibilities are, to a great extent the feverish exhortations of the MSM, who really want it to be much closer than it actually is, because that makes for much more breathless, tension-inducing excitement and keeps people interested. If they hadn’t jumped on every poll available which might show that the gap is weakening most people would simply have shrugged their shoulders, accepted that a Tory win was inevitable, and not paid that much attention to the whole election (and thus wouldn’t have brought any more newspapers than usual).

    I personally think that May might have lost some votes by her insane social care idea, and also by being a bit robotic about her “strong and stable” government meme, without offering anything concrete to back it up, and Corbyn might well have gained some by gathering back into the fold all those “I’ve always voted Labour, just like my mum and dad,” folks, after their shocking escape attempt to vote for Brexit. But on the plus side, I think that the Tories will gain back a lot of erstwhile UKIP voters (those who voted for them for EU reasons, rather than smoking ones, that is). And for many of us who remain desperately keen to leave the EU, I think the Tories are the best of a bad bunch for the task of getting us out. I don’t think they’re great by any means, and they don’t seem to have much of a handle on how delicate, complicated and – most importantly – lengthy these negotiations are going to have to be (Brexit, as they say, is a process, not a destination), but whichever way you look at it, they’re probably still better than the alternatives. Which, to be frank, isn’t saying very much.

  13. Pingback: Between Scylla and Charybdis | MalagaBay

No need to log in

