Smokers Will Unite The World

These days it’s the common, shared experience of smokers to have been “exiled to the outdoors.” And it’s the same experience whether it happened to them in Moscow or Manchester or Melbourne. They’re all outcasts. They’ve all been tarred with the same brush.

But this shared experience is also what binds them together. It has to be a strong bond between these outcast smokers if they can feel connected to fellow smokers who live 100 miles or 3,000 miles away, whom they’ve never actually met in person, face to face.

It’s perhaps the same sort of shared experience that binds together army battalions, whose recruits all joined up more or less at the same time, and fought in the same battles against the same shared enemy over a period of years. They all used once to be bakers or bank managers or builders or something in some forgotten former life, but then they were exiled to fight on distant foreign fields.

It’s the same with school friends. The pupils in a school have the shared experience of being exiled by their parents to the same school, and being taught the same lessons by the same teachers in the same classrooms for same period of years.

I was chatting on Skype with Brigitte yesterday. She lives 100 miles away. I’ve never met her in person, face to face. But we were chattering away like old friends. And yet the only bond between us is that we’re both smokers, and both outcasts. The same thing happened to us both, on the exact same day.  We have something in common, in the same way that soldiers in an army or pupils in a school or citizens from some city have something in common.

I put up a little memorial to Harley in my right hand margin today. It felt like using the butt of a rifle to hammer a little crude wooden cross into the ground on some battlefield, and hanging his helmet on top of it, and scrawling his name on it. He was one of us. And I never met him in person either. I used the last photo of himself that he posted on his Facebook page. He was holding a rifle. US soldiers (like him) would know what kind of rifle it was. And it was how I always imagined him, even before he posted it up: an old soldier holding a rifle. Maybe sometime the memorial will link to something. Maybe it’ll link to a few of his many comments here on this blog. Maybe it’ll link to a few of his videos. But for now it just says R.I.P. HARLEY. It’s the best I can manage with a couple of sticks and a muddy rifle butt. Tomorrow our unit moves out. I’ve still got battles to fight, even if he doesn’t. I still can’t believe he’s dead.

Tobacco Control is going to find that, when it expelled smokers from society, it didn’t scatter them to oblivion as intended, but instead united them in a shared experience. And the longer and harder that experience has been for them, the more tightly they’ll be bound together. However far apart they might be, they’ll still be together. And they’ll form an invisible community around the world. And an invincible army. It’s slowly going to get stronger and stronger and stronger. And it will destroy Tobacco Control.

And the larger the army becomes, the less force it will need to win victories. We won’t need rifles. We won’t even need to march in formation. It will need just one spoken word to take down Tobacco Control, when the time for it comes. And maybe just a nod.

And one surprising effect of this, I realised this morning, will be that smokers will unite the world. Because we’re not English and German and American and Russian smokers: we’re all just smokers with the shared experience of smokers everywhere in the world. It’s not just the shared experience of smoking cigarettes or pipes or cigars, but also the shared experience, courtesy of Tobacco Control, of being reviled and rejected and robbed.

There’s been nothing like it before in the whole of human history. Fully a quarter of humanity, maybe more, is now being reviled and rejected and robbed. And when these smokers finally capture Washington and London and Tokyo, they’ll probably number over half of all humanity. Because – another prediction – there are going to be more smokers in future, not fewer. Pretty much everyone is going to smoke. And they’ll be smoking all sorts of different things.

And here’s me in England talking with Gary K in Illinois:

About Frank Davis

smoker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Smokers Will Unite The World

  1. Rose says:

    A few of the Harley quotes I’ve come across so far when looking for something else.

    https://cfrankdavis.wordpress.com/2014/03/31/the-anti-musicians/
    Harleyrider1978 says:
    March 31, 2014 at 2:57 pm

    “Might be time for you Brits to have a lil civilwar”

    harleyrider1978 says:
    May 6, 2011 at 11:50 am

    “Ahh! the roaring 20s returns……..My great gramma was a flapper and even had 2 speak easys during prohibition in kentucky and indianna. She also owned 2 tobacco farms and ran bootleg cigarettes……….Heres a pic of her with me great grandpa when he returned from ww1 fighting the kaiser!”
    https://cfrankdavis.wordpress.com/2011/05/06/big-tobacco-wakes-up/#comment-14280

    When Did You Start Smoking Regularly?
    May 15, 2015

    harleyrider1978 says:
    May 15, 2015 at 1:45 am

    “21 right at it……………military. Maybe that’s why im so intent on destroying the enemy.”

    “My brother his wife my sisters and even their friends all started smoking at 13 or 14. My brother was in 9th grade I even got in a fight in uniform at my brothers high school over a smoking row,saying he wasn’t using the approved smoking area for students then in 1983.

    We were leaving after seeing the principle and got it straightened out. Then it was a PE coach mr big bad tough shit always throwing his weight around that was on my brothers ass all the time and the same who started the smoking rowe to start with and why I was there. I handed my brother a smoke just as we got to the front door leaving and that asshole comes around and grabs my brothers arm and starts to grab his smoke and I went balls to the walls on his fat ass. I punched him knocked him to the ground and bashed his ass everyway I could til he begged for me to stop…….

    Needless to say the cops weren’t any to friendly but admitted he started it by physically touching my brother a minor with intent after running his mouth first and then grabbing him and trying for his smoke…………..

    Anyhow that was his last day ever in school a 9th grade drop out still smoking making 250 grand a year from his inventory business……….

    All I got was the satisfaction of my first fight with a NAZI……”
    https://cfrankdavis.wordpress.com/2015/05/15/when-did-you-start-smoking-regularly/

    harleyrider1978 says:
    August 11, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    “I just want to go anywhere and smoke,day dream,look at beautiful women have a beer right prior to the mass hangings of all the nazi scientists! Then we might get some real science for a change and lets not forget the so called RESEARCHERS these nazis call researchers which are nothing but nurses or some hack shown how to use an air monitoring device!”
    https://cfrankdavis.wordpress.com/2012/08/11/what-is-a-scientist/

    harleyrider1978 says:
    August 30, 2012 at 2:45 am

    Harleyrider Smoking shootist
    video

    “Thats my 3 inch colt 44-40 SAA peacemaker

    I just got a new 45 caliber six gun and hell I can hit pretty good with that one too.

    Some days I can go out back and from 50-75 feet hit 5 on 5 and other days I might hit 2 or 3 in 5 shots at my 2x4x4 inch targets I cut out. I like em because they splinter out real nice and blow apart. But of course thats all fast draw,not aiming just from the hip! But again I started fast draw shooting back in 1980 and gave it up for about 10 years and just started back 6 months ago. Believe you me it took nearly 5000 rounds shot to get to where I could routinely hit my targets on fast draw. But ehh its one hell of a fun sport.”
    https://cfrankdavis.wordpress.com/2012/08/30/exhaustion/#comment-63665

    harleyrider1978 says:
    April 26, 2012 at 12:21 am

    “I just wanna keep up with me back in the day before the new dark ages began! For this is why we fight to enlighten the world and bring about the rennasainse again……..

    harleyrider1978 says:
    April 26, 2012 at 12:22 am

    BTW I cant spell worth a f!!k!”
    https://cfrankdavis.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/lovelock-recants/

    I’ve opened a file to keep them in, so I’ll keep on jotting them down.

    • Joe L. says:

      Very nice, Rose. I think linking Harley’s memorial to a list of links to some of his best comments would be a fitting tribute. A good mix of his personal anecdotes, funny non sequiturs (like “BTW I cant spell worth a f!!k!”) and especially those comments which showed his tenacity to spread the truth — the comments where he talks about his MSM comments getting deleted or his accounts getting banned, so he would create new accounts and repost. Harley’s “never say die” attitude was one of his best qualities, and it can inspire others to take up the torch.

    • Frank Davis says:

      Perhaps we could put together a page of quotes and links.

  2. EXCELENT! I`m Claudio D`Amato, from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Smoker!

  3. Geoff Cliff says:

    And in time, the smokers will be joined by consumers of coffee, chocolate, sugar, alcohol, fast food, meat products etc., etc. who will all find themselves on the (non-existent?) slippery slope of “public health” prohibitionism!

  4. Steven says:

    I was just thinking would it be possible for those who regularly post on here,to meet up somewhere so we could put a face to the name and natter away until the early hours.I would really like to meet up with you guys.I live in Leeds so if anybody has any ideas please let us know.

    • Frank Davis says:

      I guess I’m trying to help do this a bit. Meeting up online via Skype is probably the only way some people can meet up these days.

    • beobrigitte says:

      Meeting up physically is not a problem for me. I do travel a lot so I have become to ignore the weekend short-haul flights. It’s the long haul flights that disrupt planning.

      Skype is easier in the sense that we can log in from anywhere and just work with the time-difference (e.g. Australia-England). Leeds to me is just round the corner.
      Meeting up after the end of June, though. I’m traveling again in about a week. Skype always as it is independent of where I am.

  5. nisakiman says:

    I looked at your conversation with Gary yesterday on the CCSR site. Nice. It’s strange, but neither you nor Gary seem to have aged at all from when we had those online smoky-drinkys. How long ago was that? Two years? Three years? Obviously we are all being well preserved by the tobacco smoke we inhale on a daily basis! Well, TC do say that it contains formaldehyde, :)

    • Frank Davis says:

      I really can’t remember when it was. And at the moment I can’t think of any way of finding out.

      • beobrigitte says:

        I don’t remember the date but I do remember Lysistrata contacting me quite a while after. We added each other on skype individually and were going to have a chat.
        We emailed a while but we never made it to actually skyping. I wish I knew what she wanted to ask me (I answer all questions honestly) as my work schedule at the time didn’t allow me to be on skype with her at the same time.
        Although we got off on the wrong foot I still regard her as someone who turned out to be a great friend.
        Yes, it goes back a few years.

  6. Clicky says:

  7. Joe L. says:

    Because – another prediction – there are going to be more smokers in future, not fewer. Pretty much everyone is going to smoke.

    There will absolutely be more smokers in the future; you can bet on it.

    Over the past couple decades, Tobacco Control have successfully preyed upon the emotions of a vulnerable generation. In their time of desperation and weakness, those who have lost friends and relatives to what have come to be labeled “smoking-related diseases” have been provided with a convenient target with which to channel their grief and anger — tobacco. They have been given permission to blame tobacco (and with the SHS myths, they have been given permission to blame other smokers) for killing their loved ones. This, compounded with the propensity for each generation to rebel against their parents’ generation, has helped to give birth to so much of the hate and spite we smokers have been encountering, mostly from Gen-X’ers and Millennials.

    However, that same tendency for each generation to rebel against its predecessor will eventually lead to the complete destruction of Tobacco Control. Thanks to the overzealous puritans in TC, smoking rates have been on the decline and smoking bans have all but eliminated secondhand smoke exposure, yet empirical evidence has begun to mount showing that the prevalence of “smoking-related diseases” on the whole have not only failed to decline, but have actually been rising. This is their fatal flaw.

    The next generation will have no choice but to take notice of this discrepancy when their parents, aunts and uncles, the Gen-X/Millennial non-smokers, who were practically never exposed to tobacco smoke, begin to suffer from/die of “smoking-related diseases.” They will come to understand that tobacco is actually quite harmless and enjoyable, and very soon thereafter, “pretty much everyone is going to smoke.”

    I believe this is exactly why TC has developed their ‘endgame’ strategy. They foresee this eventuality, and are hoping to institute prohibition of tobacco before this generational revolution can begin. While I am hopeful that we can overturn smoking bans in the short term because I am extremely fed up with living in a fearful, spiteful world where I feel like a lesser citizen simply because I enjoy tobacco, at the very least we need to fight to ensure we prevent any sort of tobacco prohibition from occurring so that nature can take its course unimpeded.

    • beobrigitte says:

      I believe this is exactly why TC has developed their ‘endgame’ strategy.
      I don’t believe they have developed this. Correct me if I’m wrong. This term dates back to my inheritance, I am a German national, so it’s just being re-used.

      There will absolutely be more smokers in the future; you can bet on it.
      There is a number of reasons for it. The two obvious ones are:
      1. Smoking is becoming more and more expensive. It’s a ‘must-have’.
      2. Smoking became the symbol of FREEDOM post 2nd world war and even later. (Refer to previously ISIS ruled regions)
      Sure, FEAR is a powerful tool of dictators. However, no dictator stopped at a “comfortable point of applying it and got carried away (just like tobacco control does now) with the result that anger overrode the fear.

  8. beobrigitte says:

    Frank, Gary and Nisakiman you don’t do ageing, do you? Perhaps the formaldeyde works well for you? I feel, for me it’s a case of stating: “smoked meat wrinkles but it LASTS a hell of a long time”.

    It was a pleasure to watch yet another great video conversation!!! It is very interesting to see how many different angles of the effects of the anti-smoking culture gradually infused into societies are being addressed. The lives of smokers in the various countries, however, appear to be very similar except in the countries whose population seems to be more innovative when it comes to find ways around bans than others. Question is, how much longer can these countries’ population be innovative?

    “The world has become a more selfish place. Politicians are becoming more self absorbed in becoming re-elected” I firmly believe that the ‘Blair-rich-project’ which started in 1997 and is still ongoing, is a prime example here in Britain.

    These days it’s the common, shared experience of smokers to have been “exiled to the outdoors.” And it’s the same experience whether it happened to them in Moscow or Manchester or Melbourne. They’re all outcasts. They’ve all been tarred with the same brush.

    But this shared experience is also what binds them together. It has to be a strong bond between these outcast smokers if they can feel connected to fellow smokers who live 100 miles or 3,000 miles away, whom they’ve never actually met in person, face to face. […]
    I was chatting on Skype with Brigitte yesterday. She lives 100 miles away. I’ve never met her in person, face to face. But we were chattering away like old friends. And yet the only bond between us is that we’re both smokers, and both outcasts.

    Thanks, again, Frank for the first trial run on my virtual smokey skyputer! It was a pleasure to talk to a fellow outcast. with a nice cup of tea and an ashtray. Neither of us had to apologize for leaving the conversation for a cigarette, standing outside in wind and rain, so the conversation was interrupted. We had a nice chat continuously.
    Question is, would we, if we had met in e.g. 1980 spent time time, talking to each-other? I don’t think we would have. We’d have probably even have sat an adjacent tables in the pub and continued to be involved with what was talked about with our friends on our individual table rounds. Over the past 20 years and more we have learned who our friends are. I still do have a couple of non-smoking friends who aren’t scared to visit me and will provide an ashtray for me in their home.
    Like Gary, who used to go out 6 days/week and has become a recluse in his own home, life for me is different in the same way now.

    And one surprising effect of this, I realised this morning, will be that smokers will unite the world. Because we’re not English and German and American and Russian smokers: we’re all just smokers with the shared experience of smokers everywhere in the world. It’s not just the shared experience of smoking cigarettes or pipes or cigars, but also the shared experience, courtesy of Tobacco Control, of being reviled and rejected and robbed.
    The more you push people with their back against a wall the more they will unite and really fight. After all, they have nothing to lose and language no longer is a barrier.

    Last, but not least:
    I put up a little memorial to Harley in my right hand margin today.
    I think Harley would appreciate this very much! He was one of the fiercest fighters I came across after being attacked back in 2010. I was glad then because I had never insulted the anti-smokers, just asked some questions to make sense of the ongoing fierce “fight”.
    I did follow Harley’s comments back then and he sure did inspire me to think about things I never paid much attention to. (Just like RdM did inspire me to think about a few solutions that may otherwise not have crossed my mind).
    I really do hope he did get the chance to marry his lady as he said he was going to after he reappeared and told us all what had happened a couple of years ago. To me, the lady was his wife, anyway, because I thought she was when he mentioned her.
    He was quite a character and I easily can see him giving our fight top-priority.
    Perhaps we all can honour him by continuing and being stubborn. After all, for me, personally, I got my little Mac to do what I wanted it to do by being very stubborn – and talk to others.

  9. James Higham says:

    Moscow, Manchester or Melbourne – in fact, any city beginning with M.

  10. waltc says:

    the shared experience, courtesy of Tobacco Control, of being reviled and rejected and robbed.” Seems to me it takes a fairly (or unfairly) bent mind to believe you’re “helping” people by reviling, rejecting and robbing them. Not to mention evicting, firing and refusing them medical treatment. But I’m not sure the madness is confined to Millenials and Xers. Too many of my contemporaries–and even their parents– a lot of them former smokers–have fallen for the same gag and ban smoking in their homes and won’t come to ours. And acquaintances who don’t give a damn either way have been lost just because there’s no place to meet. And a lot of the legislators who pass bans and taxes (and are boomers or more) admit to being former or even current smokers. The world is apparently in the grip of a fever, but one that will, hopefully, break and burn out

    Btw, nice meeting you, Gary

    • Joe L. says:

      But I’m not sure the madness is confined to Millenials and Xers.

      It’s definitely not confined to Millennials and Gen-Xers, but these generations have been the targets of most of TC’s campaigns (e.g., the “Truth” ad campaign). They specifically focused their efforts on the younger generations for a reason: the future. At the same time, these generations were also taught to guilt-trip their parents about their smoking habits, so there has absolutely been a good amount of antismoking carryover into the Boomers. However, I think this was just icing on the cake for Tobacco Control. They didn’t want to waste money trying to teach old dogs new tricks, but instead they wound up doing so by proxy of their chiiiiildren.

      Regarding legislators/politicians: they are an entirely different breed altogether. Money talks, so it makes no difference whether they are former/current smokers. If they stand to make a profit via some kickback, they’ll pass the legislation. Remember, they’re not required to play by the same rules we plebians are forced to obey. Many of them pay little to nothing in taxes anyway. I don’t know if we could ever find out for certain, but I’d guess most politicians who smoke get their tobacco duty-free.

  11. Rose says:

    Gary, I very much like your voice.

No need to log in

