Smokers Uniting

Nice new (if slightly truncated) Smoking Section video today, of Emily Wieja talking to Kevin/Nisakiman.

What’s interesting about this one is that it hasn’t been recorded in a studio in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Instead it’s recorded in Emily’s Cambridge flat/apartment and Nisakiman’s home in Greece. And so Emily is smoking (and maybe Nisakiman is smoking too).

What’s also interesting is that it’s also being posted up on a UK blog (mine) to help bring it to a wider audience. (and now a Spanish blog as well)

And I’ve also got a video of myself talking to GaryK in Illinois which I hope to post up in a few days.

And last night I spoke briefly on Skype to Brigitte in Liverpool. I’m hoping to do a test Skype conference with her and Reinhold in Germany soon.

Add it all up, and that’s smokers in the USA, UK, Germany, and Greece talking directly to each other. And Emily and I are hoping to line up more videos with other people too. We’re beginning, in a small way, to help bring smokers together, all over the world.

And I was thinking this morning that smokers have powerful incentives to get together. All these people who are talking in these videos are united by one shared characteristic: they smoke. And they’re also being reviled and rejected and robbed because they smoke. They’re all angry, and they all have good cause to be angry. And their anger is uniting them.

I think it’s what always happens, when any minority comes under attack. The attack serves to push them together, to unite them, in ways that isn’t happening with other people. It doesn’t matter if they’re geographical minorities (countries, peoples) or racial or sexual  minorities (blacks, gays). As soon as they come under attack, they start to come together, like the spreading arms of sea urchins contract together in a tight bunch as soon as they’re touched.

And what’s really interesting about the minority of smokers in the world is that they’re a huge minority. There are some 1.5 billion of them in the world, maybe more. And pretty much all of them are being subjected to the savage global onslaught of Tobacco Control. And so they’re all being driven together by strong forces.

So one may predict with almost perfect certainty that a new minority – smokers – is going to make its appearance soon on the world stage. And it’s going to be a very powerful and angry minority, that will appear almost simultaneously everywhere in the world.

Because, right now, all over the world, there will lots and lots of Emilys and Franks and Brigittes and Reinholds and Kevins who are talking to each other, and reaching out to each other. And eventually, one day, they’ll all meet up.

And when they do, they’ll be invincible.

P.S. Just his morning, I’ve had RdM in New Zealand offering to do a Skype chat. That is, I think, pretty much exactly on the opposite side of the world from the UK. It should be fun to have two people talking, one early in the morning for them, the other late at night for them.

About Frank Davis

smoker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to Smokers Uniting

  1. Oh dear. I have had the pleasure of corresponding with Nisaki several times recently (infact I probably still owe him an email). My mental image of him was even further from the truth than mine was of you, Frank.
    I really think I would be intimidated to talk to him ‘live’. Have we not got anyone more my dissolved-by-years-of-professional-alcoholism intellect and incoherency in both word and speech?

    • Rose says:

      I am dissolved intellectually and rendered incoherent by only having written shopping lists and the occasional excuse note for school for twenty years, but I don’t have a camera.

    • RdM says:

      Have we not got anyone more my dissolved-by-years-of-professional-alcoholism intellect and incoherency in both word and speech?

      You’ll never know, until it happens… I’ve just earlier finished a second bottle of chardonnay, after several days of abstinence and a very difficult cashless fortnight… ;=})

      And I’ve earlier by phone persuaded a friend who lives in the country that he should grow some tobacco at his place, impossible in any quantity on my tiny inner-city balcony.

      I’ve always seemed to be able to write coherently even when quite drunk;- I’m not sure how that comes across verbally, but actually I think it’s usually reasonably OK.

      Not that I’m a drunk or always drunk at all, but sometimes I enjoy a drink.
      And sobriety. The wine was consumed over hours, and hours ago now, it seems.

      I’ve already made a few posts in this state, it’s 4:00 am here, a rare occurrence, but I don’t think I’ll be having any hangover… I’ll just sleep in a bit!

      And if we get the tobacco plants up and growing, I’ll be thinking of your cutters.
      But actually I’ve found pretty well identical ones on the local Trademe* auction site.
      Although I was wondering if an electric plane might also do the trick… but way ahead of myself, absurd… we don’t even have plants growing yet!
      * a search on tobacco shredder at http://www.trademe.co.nz/

      • Hi RdM, I got out of the tobacco shredder game a while back, thanks to an ever sinking quality of product (I was having to return 25 out of 50 shredders to the manufacturer and having to replace far too many I had sold). Added to the change in the law here where the unlicensed holding of tobacco leaves is on a par with having black market uranium in your kitchen cupboard. Mind you, back when I started it was bloody obvious to all and sundry that the Government was going to close the ‘loop hoop’ or rather put some measures in place to police the already closed loophole.
        The best shredders, actually a ‘slicers’ I ever found were some made in Montreal years ago and can still be found on ebay at times. I believe they even made one that ran off elektrickery. They used common or garden Stanley knife blades. They produce, more or less, tobacco as fine as shop bought. Still leaves some ‘lumps’ and the blades wear out at an alarming rate.

        hmm something at the back of my mind is saying we have spoken here about this before; if so I apologise for the repeat.

  2. garyk30 says:

    Ah, Kevin has not aged a bit in the last couple of years.
    Still the same good looking rascal.

    Still, I wish there were more people having a glass of wine or beer in these videos, as well as smoking.

    A video conversation is almost like having some one over to your home and I, for one, would certainly share a glass or two with them.

  3. Pingback: Despacito… | Contra la ley "antitabaco"

  4. Vlad says:

    Very interesting. One suggestion I have for an interview is Nightlight. He has a quite unique perspective on the whole smoking issue, summarized as ‘smoking is good for you’ (sigfy).

    • Frank Davis says:

      At the moment I’m letting people put themselves forward. Although Emily goes looking for people.

      • Some other Tom says:

        How possible is it to create a ‘virtual pub’ where people could log in and video chat with others with whatever they like to drink and or smoke?

        • Frank Davis says:

          You could probably do something like that on Skype or Facebook, if you had enough members of some club to ensure that there was usually someone online for a smoke and a chat.

        • Joe L. says:

          Yes, it’s definitely possible via Skype and the like. Dozens of people can participate. However, unlike in a physical pub, you can’t see everyone at once, because there’s simply not enough screen real estate, and also, any lag/delay can cause people to start talking at the same time, which can be a bit awkward at times. Nonetheless, I think we should try to put something together.

          Also, @Rose: you don’t need a camera to participate; you can join in audio-only. You would be able see others with cameras, and everyone else could still hear you.

    • Rose says:

      Nightlight is fearsome, he once replied to me with a large picture of a giant ant ,when I first had the temerity to post on Forces.
      I have huge respect for Nightlight and always watch my P’s and Q’s when he is around.

      • Vlad says:

        What did you post about that he replied with a giant ant picture?
        I kind of have the image of Ronald A. Fisher in mind when reading Nightlight’s posts.

        • Rose says:

          I’m afraid I can’t remember what I posted about, but I vividly remember the huge ant.

  5. Emily Wieja says:

    Thank you Frank! It was lovely to speak with nisakiman, and I would love to have him back again. The video getting cut off is my fault because I have not yet even mastered basic editing skills!

  6. RdM says:

    Hey, nisakiman, great to see and hear you on that video!
    Thanks to you and Emily!!
    BTW, I see some nice old-school silver audio equipment behind you…
    Music appreciation?

    Have a look at this 20 min doc on mad sane Greek & expats audiophiles in Athens…

    Enjoy full screen. Wait for the needle drop…

    I had to search that track out after seeing that, on youtube originally, barred now, but it’s Diana Krall doing a cover of Tom Wait’s Temptation … and not the first track on a record, as far as I could find, so perhaps film makers poetic licence, but still a great doco of these enthusiasts!

    • nisakiman says:

      Thanks for the vid RdM – I’ll check it out in a little while.

      Yes, I’ve got loads of stereo stuff knocking around. I haven’t really got myself organised yet, having moved here in November, and then being in Thailand for a couple of months. The kit behind me is an old Akai amp from the ’70s – not particularly brilliant from an audio point of view, but a beautifully made piece of kit – really solid. There’s a Marantz CD player on that, and a Rotel tuner on top, and I’m running them through a pair of old but good NAD speakers. My favourite amp is my Quad (again from the early ’70s), but it’s really awkward to integrate because the power amp and the pre-amp are completely different shapes and sizes, and just can’t be made into a tidy stack. It’s also incredibly ugly, with a real ’70s brown and orange colour scheme! :) But a great sound. I’ve got about a thousand or so CDs, but most of them are still in boxes. Likewise about 600 vinyl LPs. I’ve got some serious shelf building to do!

      I came across a lovely review of the Akai amp a while back on YouTube. A French guy who waxes lyrical about the build quality.

      • RdM says:

        I had some NAD speakers briefly once, secondhand, the tweeters were blown which I didn’t realise until after I’d bought them, but I was impressed with the air core crossover coils & etc. Quad, no comment now (it’s 3:20 am here!) but re your Akai amp, actually, it should be quite good audio-wise, perhaps could benefit from a re-cap, er, a replacement of some of the main electrolytic capacitors, which do tend to go off, deteriorate with age, but on the other hand some hold up quite well… it has quite good specs!

        Here’s the service manual, do a painless sign-up email registration to download
        https://www.hifiengine.com/manual_library/akai/am-2450.shtml

        (haven’t looked at your video yet either but I’m sure you’ll like the Ken Barnes one!)

    • nisakiman says:

      I just watched the video. Fantastic! Ye Gods, what unbelievable kit those guys have got! But they are very Greek – passionate about what is important to them.

      I don’t think I’ll be trying to compete with them, though. Over €100,000 for a stereo? When the one guy had said to him “but you could buy a Mercedes for that”, his response was “what do I want with a Mercedes? It’s only a car…”

  7. RdM says:

    P.S. Just his morning, I’ve had RdM in New Zealand offering to do a Skype chat. That is, I think, pretty much exactly on the opposite side of the world from the UK. It should be fun to have two people talking, one early in the morning for them, the other late at night for them.

    Thanks, Frank. Well, I think somewhere in Spain is the exact antipodes of New Zealand ( New Zeal Land?) but it’s pretty well exactly opposite in terms of GMT, excepting Summer Time.

    It’d probably be more comfortable for me later at night when I can be enjoying a drink, but then that might not be fair on you, unless you were enjoying a coffee or tea?

    Or vice versa … it’ll take some time, at least a few weeks I think, for me to set up anyway.

    It might be fun to have some other people on the couch or sofa as well, but we’ll see.

  8. nisakiman says:

    I was saying to Emily that I was a bit disappointed with the video quality, which pixellated a lot when I moved.

    I had a bit of a look on Google this morning, and what I found made sense. Naturally, ones internet provision is asymmetric, with by far the greater priority given to download speed, since that’s what people normally want. So most providers will do a split of around 10:1.

    I pay for what is supposed to be a 24Mbps connection, but in reality when I do a speed test, I’m getting 12 – 15 Mbps download speed and 0.75 – 0.9 Mbps upload speed, which is less than the 10:1 split on the upload side. It would seem that for good video quality, I need to have an upload speed of at least 1.2 Mbps, and preferably 1.5 Mbps. I’m going to contact my ISP to see if they can uncap my upload speed any, but I’m not holding my breath.

    It would be good to expand this some more and talk to (and record) more people from around the world. I’d have to buy some recording software (about $99 one-off payment, or of course there’s always ‘other sources’), which I may well do if this takes off.

    • Frank Davis says:

      The only (PC) recording software I’ve bought is an Evaer Skype recorder, which I bought so that I could record side-by-side video images. Apart from that I’ve got a free Flashback Express screen video recorder, to do parts of the screen. And a free VSDC video editor. Total expenditure to date: $20.

      Emily is using a Mac, so it’s all different for her.

      I’m also planning to create a new WordPress blog, just for videos. Still haven’t thought of a name for it. It would be something that other people could post stuff up on if they had editing rights (much like I did with the ISIS blog)

      • nisakiman says:

        Aha, I’ll have to look into the Evaer. I only had a quick glance on Google this morning, so I didn’t explore all the options.

        Yes, another site dedicated to video could work well. That’s an interesting thought.

      • beobrigitte says:

        The only (PC) recording software I’ve bought is an Evaer Skype recorder, which I bought so that I could record side-by-side video images. Apart from that I’ve got a free Flashback Express screen video recorder, to do parts of the screen. And a free VSDC video editor. Total expenditure to date: $20.
        I don’t know the VSDC video editor (is it like the one that comes with a windows os?) and couldn’t find out much about it. I use Kdenlive (being a linux thing it is definitely free), which is now also for windows available. It is very nice and user-friendly.

        Emily is using a Mac, so it’s all different for her.
        A Mac….. I won one a while ago but hated the apple software and the cost when something goes wrong as you cannot fix it yourself as Apple does not allow it.
        I wiped it, partitioned/formatted it with G-parted and uploaded a linux os.
        Unfortunately Microsoft is funny with linux and allows only a very basic version (conference calls audio only) of skype to run.
        I am in the process of installing my ancient windows 7 version on it right now. (In case someone else is wiping a Mac, for a windows os installation the MBR (standard bios partition table disk) needs to be changed to a GPT (GUID partition table disk) which is easily done with g-parted in seconds.

        Hopefully I’ll have the smokers’ new pub “skype” running on there by tomorrow.

        • RdM says:

          I see http://www.evaer.com/ but also found this open source screen recorder for Win (7 & up) Mac (10.9 & up) and Linux (Ubuntu 14.04 & up)
          https://obsproject.com/

          (I’m still on a (fully updated, there’s a cumulative 1GB odd “SP4” available 3rd party) XP machine, but am planning to install Win 7 on a quite highly specced Toshiba laptop ex a skip (a construction company threw 6 or so out), just missing hard drives…)

          “and the cost when something goes wrong as you cannot fix it yourself as Apple does not allow it.”

          I don’t quite understand this. Are you talking about hardware, software?
          What does Apple ‘not allow’?

          Thanks;- Ross

        • beobrigitte says:

          I don’t quite understand this. Are you talking about hardware, software?
          What does Apple ‘not allow’?

          Too much ‘out of the box’ and costly “fixing” what I could have fixed myself with the aid of a small freebee software.
          To try and charge me £170 for removing add-ware was a little too much for me. The apple guy become somewhat unfriendly and blocked my internet access.

          So I wiped the Mac.

          It is easy to install Linux on a wiped Mac but I found it much more labour intensive when trying to dual boot linux-windows. Especially since I’m not well up on Apple. Changing the Apple equivalent of MBR to GPT was easy but then I found another problem. I need additional windows drivers for the installation which I can only download after the installation that does not complete. Catch 22. And since I completely wiped the Mac, I do not have the option of using “boot camp”.

          Trying to install it on virtual box now. My patience is wearing a little thin.

          (I’m still on a (fully updated, there’s a cumulative 1GB odd “SP4” available 3rd party) XP machine, but am planning to install Win 7 on a quite highly specced Toshiba laptop ex a skip (a construction company threw 6 or so out), just missing hard drives…)
          Is it worth installing win 7 as support will end in a couple of years. I only chose it because I still have it and in 2 years that Mac won’t work anymore.

        • RdM says:

          “To try and charge me £170 for removing add-ware was a little too much for me.”
          Malwarebytes is free for Mac and would get rid of adware:
          https://www.malwarebytes.com/mac/

          Can you not reinstall a version of OSX (and even upgrade it)?
          http://www.everymac.com will tell you what the maximum OSX your mac will take (maybe even up to current). Maybe you can borrow or buy cheap an install disc say Snow Leopard or later (needs to be a retail version or if the plain grey sort that came with a specific machine, the same hardware). There’s no issue with needing a specific licence or activation code etc with OSX unlike Windows as you likely know. Then you could start over, still set up dual or triple boot etc.

          I upgraded a friends mid 2011 iMac from Snow Leopard to the latest OSX, easy, it was free from the app store.

          “I need additional windows drivers for the installation which I can only download after the installation that does not complete.”

          Yes I always use a different PC to download specific drivers for whatever I’m going to install Windows on! I’ve never looked for Windows drivers for a Mac though I see everymacdotcom has quite a bit of info, I searched “Windows drivers” there.

          “Is it worth installing win 7 as support will end in a couple of years. I only chose it because I still have it and in 2 years that Mac won’t work anymore.”

          Well the Toshiba notebook in question had Win 7 originally; I’ve downloaded drivers for it, and am going to try to install a copy ahem of Win 7 I have on it. The support people wanted to charge $99 for a restore CD which would have Win 7, obviously all the correct drivers and the original hidden restore partition on it, provided I read off the Windows sticker numbers to them. Too much for me.

          It’s not that the Mac (with Win 7, if you can get the drivers you need – say from a friends PC or even the local library, onto a USB stick) – will “stop working” – my XP is still working and support for that ended ages ago – it’s just that no new updates will be issued.

          Cheers, and I hope you can work out a solution!

        • beobrigitte says:

          Thanks for your help, RdM, it is much appreciated!!

          Malwarebytes is free for Mac and would get rid of adware
          Apple blocked my internet access with the Mac and what I found via my PC (the “big” that acts as the hub for my micro network) for the Mac was not free.
          And I was angry. So I wiped the Mac.

          Can you not reinstall a version of OSX (and even upgrade it)?
          I probably could but that would be admitting defeat. Ever since Apple decided to cut my Mac off the internet, because “the-damage-to-the-network” (MY little PRIVATE network),
          I treat Apple the same as Tobacco Control. I will NEVER be defeated!!! And I will never give up!!!

          Yes I always use a different PC to download specific drivers for whatever I’m going to install Windows on! I’ve never looked for Windows drivers for a Mac though I see everymacdotcom has quite a bit of info, I searched “Windows drivers” there.
          I know. I downloaded them with my big PC (the hub) and put them on a stick. I couldn’t install them prior to the installation of windows7 as angry ladies can achieve wonders at times and manage to even delete/damage the Mac equivalent of the MBR. And without an OS it’s impossible to install drivers.

          To cut the story short, I now have 2 options left:
          1. Dual boot – installing the linux os first to give windows a handle for overwriting Grub (which it will do), thus rendering the linux os unable to be booted in. Heartbreaking.
          2. Resolve the sound issues I do have on the Linux installed partition for Skype 5.02 (beta version) that will allow conference calls.
          Currently I’m working on the second option even though the partitioning of the hard drive has reduced the Linux partition to 110GB and leaves 130GB as an unused partition temporarily (which I can sort with G-parted at a later point without ruining the linux OS).

          However, in case it does take longer to resolve the sound issue I remembered that I have a few laptops (older) still lying around. I checked them and found the one I took with me to the States 4 years ago. That one has windows 7 on – from the same install disk I have put next to the Mac- and all I have to get is a charging cable. The laptop was bought in 2003/2004 (it’s one of the youngest I have in the house!!) and works fine when plugged in. (The battery is shot; it was on it’s last legs 4 years ago!)

          It’s not that the Mac (with Win 7, if you can get the drivers you need – say from a friends PC or even the local library, onto a USB stick) – will “stop working” – my XP is still working and support for that ended ages ago – it’s just that no new updates will be issued.
          I must admit, the Mac is quite robust.
          I know XP still works (I do have a little laptop with XP for an ancient game only and have denied internet access for it) but it’s left very vulnerable to attacks. I read today somewhere that win7 will be good to run for 4 more years. But that might be a myth.

          Good luck with your win7 installation – with a bit of luck I might not have to resort to dual booting!

        • RdM says:

          To be fair, I don’t think “Apple blocked my internet access with the Mac and” “Ever since Apple decided to cut my Mac off the internet” can be really true.

          More accurately, somehow its networking functionality became impaired. (incapacitated, damaged, faulty)
          I don’t know about malware on Macs, but certainly sometimes nasties on Windows can prevent access to the net. But it could have been a corrupted network driver in the mac, a hardware fault, or even a faulty cable. I had an eMac that the sound chip just stopped working on, for instance.

          It’s a bit too paranoid to think that Apple reached down through the network to turn off your access! ;=})

          However, from what I’ve read so far, I don’t know that it is possible to install Windows “directly” onto a Mac. Everything seems to point to either using BootCamp, Parallels, VMWare, Virtualbox etc. – which would seem to mean having OSX installed again as a starting point?

          Everymacdotcom seems to be down right now, although I could access it yesterday, but I’ve just been looking at Google’s cache for it (and links off it)
          http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:http://www.everymac.com/mac-answers/windows-on-mac-faq/

          Or put www everymac dot com into archive dot org (just trying to keep the links down so this doesn’t go in to moderation!)

          “To cut the story short, I now have 2 options left:
          1. Dual boot – installing the linux os first to give windows a handle for overwriting Grub (which it will do), thus rendering the linux os unable to be booted in. Heartbreaking.”

          Yes everything I’ve ever read about dual-booting Windows with *anything* requires that Windows is installed first;- then you set up the other OS on another partition and install a boot-loader of some sort.

          “That one has windows 7 on – from the same install disk I have put next to the Mac”

          Maybe getting that going with a new charging adapter/cable will allow you to use Skype, but be very careful about trying to use its install disk – just like with Macs, if that install disk was provided with it -and it’s not a proper retail version (that can be used with any hardware) – i.e. it’s branded Dell, HP, Toshiba, whatever and it was for that specific notebook/laptop – it will NOT work on “other” hardware – because it has only the specific drivers for the machine it originally came with. Same with grey specific OSX install / restore disks that came with a specific mac model.

          I think your best bet could be to get a retail install disk for say Snow Leopard – Apple sells it here in NZ for $25, or look on ebay uk for snow-leopard – or search there for mac osx lion or mountain lion even better still – but make sure your mac can run it (probably quite likely if reasonable new, like 2012 on or even earlier – what is your exact mac model??)

          (Use the ultimate mac lookup link at everymac dot com (via archive dot org or whatever)

          – then once installed (you have to be patient, sometimes with both OSX and Windows installations there can be quite long periods of time where nothing appears to be happening – just let it finish!) you can check that the networking is working again, update it at will, THEN see about co-installing Windows with any of the methods mentioned at everymac dot com (although I don’t think Boot Camp or Parallels etc. is free?) (maybe Virtual Box is? I haven’t looked…)

          In other words, try to do a clean install on the mac again.
          Networking might start working again.
          (Mentally forgive Apple temporarily… ;=}))

          Actually I only mention Snow Leopard because it was the first OSX to be supplied with Intel Macs, (and I’ve been used to older hardware!) but in reality you’d then immediately next need to install (download from another machine on to a USB drive in advance or use Software Update, but having it already ready to install would be faster) the cumulative update 10.6.8 https://support.apple.com/snowleopard so that you can then update to later versions of OSX (Software update will likely choose what is possible if everymac dot com hasn’t already shown you what is the most recent OSX yours can run)

          If you already know it can run Lion or Mountain Lion or El Capitain or whatever then maybe an install disk for any of those would be better, whatever is cheapest, but Snow Leopard would be the minimum starting point for an intel mac..

          Actually I see now from Apple Support that OS X Lion 10.7.5 is the minimum to update directly to the latest, Sierra, for free (you need an Apple ID though) so see if you can get a Lion or Mountain Lion disk, perhaps, rather than be stuck with Snow Leopard, unless it’s what you already had, or your mac is quite old, not very fast, etc.

          In other words, I’m wrong above – I don’t think you can update to Lion or Mountain Lion from Snow Leopard via Software Update – you’d need a Lion or Mountain Lion install disk.
          But some people are quite happy with Snow Leopard still, I gather…

          Hope that helps! ;-)

          By the way… “I know. I downloaded them with my big PC (the hub) “

          Does this mean you are using “Internet sharing” on that big PC? (i.e. other machines connect to it, then it alone to the modem?)

          Because it’s a lot simpler if you have an ADSL modem/router with say 4 ethernet ports rather than the simple sort with only one (and maybe a USB port too) – and its performance for broadband will be better too.
          That way every PC/Mac connects directly to it & thus the net, rather than through one machine acting as a hub. Forgive me if I’ve misunderstood… but if so, I think you’d have to undo the “internet connection sharing” on the main PC, (and others) and set it (and all the others) up to just connect through the 4-port router.

          All this is off the top of my head, starting sleepy with a few coffees, so I may have overlooked some things… and be guessing badly on others! … sorry it’s all a bit long! – but wouldn’t it be nice if the mac was (or could be) restored and working properly again?

          By the way again, I always use a 2-3 button optical mouse with scroll wheel with macs, it’s such a ridiculous pain to have to press Command or Control or whatever it is (it’s been a while!) with a Mac single button mouse to get the equivalent of a right-click!

          Best wishes…

        • beobrigitte says:

          To be fair, I don’t think “Apple blocked my internet access with the Mac and” “Ever since Apple decided to cut my Mac off the internet” can be really true.
          It did happen. I didn’t act straight away when I noticed there was something not right as I use the Apple only for skyping. After a few days I no longer could access the internet with the Mac, so I looked up a phone number. As said, they wanted £170 for removing it.

          It’s a bit too paranoid to think that Apple reached down through the network to turn off your access! ;=})
          That’s what I thought initially as well. Perhaps that’s why I didn’t give the malware removal on the Mac priority.

          However, from what I’ve read so far, I don’t know that it is possible to install Windows “directly” onto a Mac.
          You can. That’s why I changed the Mac MBR equivalent to GPT. Where I botched up was when I wiped the Mac (without any aid other than g-parted) and didn’t leave the small partition that contains this information alone. [BIG learning curve!!]

          Because it’s a lot simpler if you have an ADSL modem/router with say 4 ethernet ports rather than the simple sort with only one (and maybe a USB port too) – and its performance for broadband will be better too.
          There will be another tower added shortly. Just need to finally continue the last old tower I’m rebuilding. It’s not top priority right now and I haven’t bought the motherboard yet.

          That way every PC/Mac connects directly to it & thus the net, rather than through one machine acting as a hub.
          They can do, but since I didn’t want cables all over the place the ones not near the “hub” connect via wifi to the internet.

          Just checked the speeds on my phone (wifi):
          Download = 74Mbps, Upload = 19Mbps.
          and on the little PC (broadband cable) I’m using right now:
          Download = 67Mbps, Upload = 18Mbps
          (The Apple is already cranked up for a further skype 5.0 sound issue resolving session)
          Apart from the phone every other machine is >10years old, that includes their motherboards.

          Yes everything I’ve ever read about dual-booting Windows with *anything* requires that Windows is installed first;- then you set up the other OS on another partition and install a boot-loader of some sort.
          Yes, as otherwise windows will overwrite the Grub (Linux) boot loader.

          By the way again, I always use a 2-3 button optical mouse with scroll wheel with macs, it’s such a ridiculous pain to have to press Command or Control or whatever it is (it’s been a while!) with a Mac single button mouse to get the equivalent of a right-click!
          The Mac keyboard that came with the Mac never worked so I use a conventional keyboard. (pressing left ALT key = choice where to boot from etc.)

          I shall persevere to get the Mac linuxed up better and get the charger for the old laptop for temporary skyping.

          *Apologies* !!!!
          I feel like I have hogged this blog. But, thanks, RdM for a little feedback, it was much appreciated!

        • Frank Davis says:

          Perhaps you two should have each others email addresses?

        • beobrigitte says:

          Sorry about that, Frank. Should I do it again, tell me off sooner!

          Btw, the smokey skype pub is up and running on Linux-on-Mac. Audio issues resolved. No windoze needed.

        • Frank Davis says:

          When can you and I have another Skype chat?

        • beobrigitte says:

          Any time! When would suit you?

        • beobrigitte says:

          ok. I’ll be cranking up the smokey skype mac

        • beobrigitte says:

          Thanks for a successful first run on the smokey-skyputer after an initial video issue (conflict with the usb cam which needed removing) was solved.

          I am really happy!!!

          But now I WILL shut up. Promise.

    • Emily Wieja says:

      Very interesting about the internet connection download vs. upload speed. I’ll have to do a speed test on mine when I get home.

    • . I’m going to contact my ISP to see if they can uncap my upload speed any, but I’m not holding my breath.

      I don’t know about Greece but I’ll wager the only way to get halfway decent up speed is by purchasing a ‘business’ plan. Worth asking of course though. Mind you I used to have two ‘business’ rate internet lines coming into the house via a dual router and still didn’t seem to really speed up my up rate to justify the ruinous expense (A £150 a month just so I could download midget-donkey porn did seem a tad decadent…to my bank manager) The other thing you could look at is what FPS your camera is recording at, really needs to be 27.9 + (off the top of my alcohol dissolved brain). Another thing to look for would be a camera with a decent (ie Made in Germany) lens. Perhaps a second hand digital camera with a zeiss might be turned into a rather nice webcam.

      • nisakiman says:

        Perhaps a second hand digital camera with a zeiss might be turned into a rather nice webcam.

        Bloody hell, BD, what do you think I am? Some kind of techno-wizard? I barely know where to plug the webcam in! Not to mention the price of Zeiss lenses, secondhand or not.

        I’ve no idea what the FPS of my webcam is, although now you’ve mentioned it, I’ll doubtless be able to delve into the settings and find out, and perhaps even to be able to change it. I don’t know what’s available in there. I just turn it on, normally, and that’s it.

        So you’re saying that the higher the FPS setting, the better the end product? So why don’t they come set at the max by default? Or do they? Dunno. It’s a Logitech HD C270, which probably means it’s 27 FPS. I’ll have a dig around in its software guts.

        Hundred and fifty quid a month for donkey porn? Blimey, mate, you could have got buffaloes, elephants and giraffes doing a threesome for that money.

        • Actually it might have been 29.7+ FPS that was the magic number. You may well find that all more modern webcams are 30 FPS anways…the little I did delve into such technical wizardry was years back.
          And your buffaloes, elephants and giraffes are all funny foreign creatures and I was brought up in Norfolk and share half my DNA sequence with at least two entire local villages so I prefer things a bit more ‘homely’ (a simple term Norfolkers manage to give a whole new terrifying meaning to….suffice to say the Norfolk dialect word for ‘Donkey’ is ‘dickey’- I kid you not. Oh those dickey back rides on the beach of childhood…)

        • Nisaki, just checked and your cam does have 30fps already but depending on just how steam powered your almost-as-ancient-as-mine laptop is you might just want to check the system requirements.
          http://support.logitech.com/en_us/article/17556

        • Joe L. says:

          Higher FPS won’t make a difference if you don’t have the bandwidth to carry it. If your video is clear in your end and pixelated/choppy on Emily’s end, it’s definitely a bandwidth issue.

  9. Rose says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed the video, well done both.

  10. beobrigitte says:

    What’s interesting about this one is that it hasn’t been recorded in a studio in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Instead it’s recorded in Emily’s Cambridge flat/apartment and Nisakiman’s home in Greece. And so Emily is smoking (and maybe Nisakiman is smoking too).
    Nisakiman sure was smoking and he raised a few interesting Greek aspects, such as the places they regard as private.
    It’s everyone’s choice to go to pubs or not in their PRIVATE time. In general, lunch breaks are unpaid and therefore are employees’ PRIVATE time. For pub staff it is work time and if the pubs are empty, it’s unemployment time for staff, at best only temporarily.
    Regardless of the pub landlord being a smoker or a non-smoker who wishes to supply ashtrays for the guests he is not allowed to. This is an interference in peoples’ private lives.

    Nice talk, Nisakiman and Emily!
    Nisakiman, you sure do look as you did a few years ago! You must pass your recipe on!!
    Emily, I didn’t realize you live relatively close to where one of my offspring lives. All things being well, I plan to go back there next year. Hopefully we can meet up.

    Add it all up, and that’s smokers in the USA, UK, Germany, and Greece talking directly to each other. And Emily and I are hoping to line up more videos with other people too. We’re beginning, in a small way, to help bring smokers together, all over the world.
    Indeed!

    • Emily Wieja says:

      Emily, I didn’t realize you live relatively close to where one of my offspring lives. All things being well, I plan to go back there next year. Hopefully we can meet up.

      I'd love to! I actually live in Boston (Cambridge is technically a separate city though both cities share a transit system/metro) but very close to Cambridge.

  11. beobrigitte says:

    Slightly O/T
    Thanks to a Reinhold who pointed me to this:
    There is someone in Brussels speaking up for smokers, although annoyingly conceding “smoking is harmful”.

    Google translated:
    The Cigarette-whisperer
    Brussels
    Guillaume Périgois is currently one of the most infamous men of Brussels. His work is nevertheless indispensable: the lobbyist defends “the rights of smokers”.

    At first glance, the Frenchman Guillaume Périgois has a more common job in Brussels. He is a lobbyist. Nevertheless, he is the only one of his kind in the EU capital, since he represents the rights of the smokers since the beginning of the year. The organization that has hired him, Forest, has been operating in Great Britain for years. So far, they have, as they claim, mainly informed smokers about the legislation. Now they have taken the step to Brussels.
    “There are 100 million smokers in the EU, most of whom have decided to smoke, some do not want to stop at all,” Périgois told the daily. It is therefore unacceptable for the EU to try to harsh against them. The lobbyist even goes so far as to assert that smokers would be stigmatized by the EU.

    Need an example?

    His job in Brussels: he tries to inform the smokers of the law throughout Europe and meets with politicians, as he says, “to defend the concerns of the smokers”. This is not an easy task, considering that he is alone and is working for the British organization in Brussels only half day.

    He said: “From Saturday onwards it will be forbidden to sell cigarettes in a pack of ten.” Did you know? ” This goes against the rights of the people, who do not have enough money to buy a pack of 20, he finds. In addition, so far many have used this smaller pack to quit smoking.

    Donations from the tobacco industry

    He is perfectly clear that what he is doing is caused by some frown. “The people we represent are adults, they have chosen to consume a legal product, knowing that it is harmful to health,” says Périgois. He excites himself: “With what right do the politicians try to stop them?” He also received many e-mails from angry people when the office in Brussels was opened: “Many people were just not happy.”

    When it comes to funding, he becomes more cautious: “Yes, we are actually sponsored by a tobacco company,” he admits. It was Japan International Tobacco, which donated 150,000 euros to the organization to get the job done in the first year. Forest had targeted them to receive funds for Brussels. “We do not represent their interests, and they also know that we have our own goals,” he says.

    “If smokers donated money, we would not have to resort to it,” the lobbyist said. His next big event is already in the calendar: On May 31, “Forest EU” celebrates the start of their Brussels office. Perhaps he will then find there one or other donor who does not come from the industry.

    How interesting!
    Naturally, the article is written rather anti-smoker-ish. What an outrage!!! Smokers getting a voice in Brussels? Deborah Arnott will be apoplectic in her rage?

    • Vlad says:

      JTI still appears to give credit to the T in its name, unlike PM or BAT who fancy themselves the next Apple or Samsung with their HnB gizmos. Sadly though, their actions are like giving a dying, cancer patient a paracetamol pill.

No need to log in

