Getting Nastier

Continuing with yesterday’s “nasty” post, and picking up on a couple of comments in response to it. First Tony:

The trouble with getting nasty is that in many cases, the immediate bullies are friends and family. Nastiness towards them is not an option.

I’m reminded of something mi amiga perdida in Barcelona once told me about the Spanish Civil War: that the divisions in Spanish society ran through families and friendships. There were brothers fighting brothers, sons fighting fathers. The Spanish Civil War was not like the American Civil War between the north and south.

At the time she told me about it, I wondered how such a thing could happen. But I soon realised, with the advent of the UK smoking ban, that friends could be very easily divided from friends, and set one against the other. After all, I was now experiencing it myself. Over the past 10 years, I have lost all the friends that I’d had before the ban, and whom in some cases I’d known for over 30 years.

About the only thing I haven’t lost is my brother and his family. My brother is an ex-smoker, but he’s quite sympathetic towards smokers. From the outset he was urging me to become politically active in the cause of smoking. And I’ve taken his advice (as I have on countless occasions throughout my life). But I think I’m lucky to have such a sympathetic brother. I can well imagine less sympathetic brothers falling out with each other just like I fell out with my former friends.

And I never “got nasty” with any of my former friends. I just walked away. Which brings me to Walt’s response to Tony:

Yes, I’ve been wickedly nasty on occasion, except, as Tony said, with relatives who once took me by surprise. I just never went back there again.

That’s what happens: You just don’t ever go back to see them again. Back in 2010, I visited some very old friends. Friends of some 35 years duration. Shortly after I arrived and had sat down in the kitchen, they told me that smoking was now banned in their house (it had not been for the previous 35 years: the paterfamilias would never have conscioned such a thing). I stayed on that day for several hours for old times’ sake, but I knew that I would never see them again. I could have told them that day that they would never see me again, but I didn’t want to spoil the nice sunny day. They found out over the next few years.

One eye-opener I came across yesterday was James Delingpole’s interview of Tommy Robinson, lately of the EDL. Tommy Robinson is one of those fringe figures in English politics: a reviled English nationalist. The interview is 95% Robinson talking, telling how over the past 30 years the small town of Luton had gone from having one mosque to 30 mosques, and how UK prisons were under the control of Islamists: you can now only find safety as a child molester if you convert to Islam. Robinson had been beaten up on numerous occasions, to the point where he had none of his own teeth left. He was, as James Delingpole remarked at the end of the discussion, a “dead man walking”.

Robinson is the sort of person who would never be allowed on any BBC or other MSM programme. But he’d been invited to speak at the Oxford Union a while back, and after having been shunned by everyone on arrival, won everyone over in the subsequent debate, and left surrounded by admirers. He was now devoting himself to spreading his message on the internet, and this had brought him before James Delingpole. Unable to get a hearing in the mainstream media, Robinson had adopted the alternative online media instead.

Which is what I’ve done. Smokers don’t get any hearing in the mainstream media. They are as rigorously excluded as English nationalists like Tommy Robinson. But we smokers can squeeze through the cracks by using the alternative online media, and get our message out that way. It just takes a bit longer.

Robinson turned out to be a big fan of Paul Joseph Watson (about whom I retain slight reservations), who is now pretty much an anchor on Alex Jones’ Infowars. In the USA, the online alternative media seems to be pretty much as powerful as the MSM.

About Frank Davis

smoker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Getting Nastier

  1. garyk30 says:

    Friendship is often poorly defined, the question of smoking brings it into a sharper focus.

    What seems to be missing these days is a sense and appreciation of good manners.

    Being ‘politically correct’ is quite different from having ‘good manners’ and ‘politeness’ is no longer a virtue.

    • Emily Wieja says:

      I’d like to think I still see politeness as one of the the highest virtues. In fact my version of “getting nasty” is pretty much just to point out to people that they’re being rude, a tactic that has met with limited success and probably needs to be revised.

  2. C.F. Apollyon says:

    There’s a “why are you fighting back?” ring to some of your thoughts.
    There’s a “why aren’t you fighting back?” ring to some of your thoughts.

    It reminds me of “the hats” that we sometimes wear, as well as how we wear them.
    EX: I was out talking to my oldest son @ 2AM during a thunderstorm the other night, and we were talking about parenting and child/parent relationships. I made the comment to my son, that when I child has a question for you, and you don’t have an answer and/or the answer that they require, it is even MORE difficult to try and explain the parental role in that regard. Meaning: I didn’t have the answer you needed/wanted, do I go further at this point and tell them…”Hey kid, I’ve never done this before. This is my first time being a parent.”

    Thinking about it a bit further, we’re only a parent once, irrespective of the number of children that we may have. Not that additional children don’t change that dynamic, and not that all children aren’t different…because they are. This is prolly why names are so important. Reminds us that they are not some mindless machine called baby or child…they’ll be their own person someday.

    Thinking of someone being their own person from conception helps me immensely with my “parenting hat”…because they came my way based on some cosmic fluke, and someday they’ll go their own way. Keeping this in mind during the times that they choose to spend with me helps me with the notion that they were never “mine”…and they belong to them.

    BTW, my oldest son was having a cigarette as we were talking. Yes…he smokes. It doesn’t bother me that he does. Yes, I think about it, prolly because I chew tobacco and come from a family of smokers, but it doesn’t “bother me” that he smokes. I see my role in that regard is to offer assistance when and if he asks for it. He didn’t ask me if he should start, so why should I arbitrarily volunteer my opinion on how he should proceed? There are already PLENTY of people and groups doing that, and they don’t need or want my help either or they would have asked. They may not like my answer if they ever did. That may even have the effect of making them take a liking my answer they did not like. They may have even anticipated my answer they did not like.

    I guess I have my own little group of “I don’t give a SHIT what you think about me and what I am doing, because you are only interested in that one single part of me that you are interested in, and that one single part is not me in my totality, so you may now fuck the fuck off thank you very much.” I guess my particular nasty little “habit” of “dipping snuff” really bends anti-smokers’ minds in that there is a “WELL!!! DO YOU SPIT?!?!?!” kinda vibe to the “how can I find a way that this tobacco user affects me and my life” kind of paradox. Especially if someone follows the…
    Q: Do you smoke?
    Cade: No.
    Q: Do you use tobacco of any kind?
    Cade: Yes.
    Q: What kind?
    Cade: Do you ever scratch your ass or pick your nose?
    Q: !!!!!!!!
    Cade: Because if so, you might want to put a little thought into the ordering of those if you do both.
    Q: …

    To me, that is what it is, to relay the feeling of what it is like to be accosted by someone regarding your personal choices. There is a lack of understanding that seems to compound itself, because of the singular purpose of “the mission” or “the crusade” because they rely heavily on the dogma of those things. Removing the splinter from someone’s eye…if you will. Perhaps even removing a thorn from someone’s side….or not.

    I guess that’s why Rodney King’s statement of “Can’t we all just get along?” is so important to me. I understand the anger and fighting parts, and I’m pretty fucking SURE that Rodney King himself had/has a pretty goddamn good bead on the anger and fighting parts. That poor guy got beat up on, and they just kept beating up on him…no escape. “Forced” to walk the walk on the path before him. The beating he took that night at the hands of those cops, seems mild compared to the beating he took at that podium the day he made that statement. Jumped to the end from the middle…and EVERYONE hated it. Almost like someone sucked the storm right out of the storm prior to its arrival.

    Thanks for the inspiration Frank. Sorry for the wall of text.

  3. waltc says:

    Off all topics except the one about the burgeoning of mosques and the fact that Steyne is always worth reading tho half the time I misspell his name

    http://www.realclearpolitics.com/2017/04/12/the_churches_close_the_mosques_open_amp_the_west_fades_away_407494.html

    • yvonnebones says:

      Following a ‘consultation’ the Pope Francis appointed Roman Catholic Bishop of Salford covering Greater Manchester is will be closing one-third of the churches in the diocese. A number of reasons have been given but not ‘trust in God’ or ‘have faith’. In the meantime Mosques are springing up like mushrooms.

  4. Clicky says:

    • prog says:

      No surprise about Busdriversson, he’s a Muslim and no doubt most London Muslims will have voted for him – the less alcohol consumption the better.

  5. Pingback: How the Internet Has Changed Our View of What is Happening in the World | Bolton Smokers Club

  6. Smoking Lamp says:

    A rare bit of good news in the UK: “Smoking ban in beer gardens and al-fresco dining areas rejected by ministers”

    “A smoking ban in beer gardens and al-fresco dining areas has been blocked by the Government after ministers warned they would infringe on people’s freedom and lead to pub closures.

    “The proposals to extend the ban to outdoor areas were have been included in a list of demands by councils and health authorities in London which has been supported by Sadiq Khan, the Labour Mayor of London.

    “However the Government has rejected the plans and condemned “labour’s municipal killjoys” for making the proposal.”

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/04/13/smoking-ban-beer-gardens-al-fresco-dining-areas-rejected-ministers/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

    The article states that outdo0r bans have been implemented in Canada and Australia and also claims that UK bans have the support of 8 out of 10. No dissenting perspectives on the utility of smoking bans are provided as a consequence the readers are unaware of the series of Populous polls showing majority support for indoor smoking rooms. Perhaps someone could remind the Telegraph that just a few weeks ago 58% of respondents in Wales support indoor smoking rooms in pubs. A year ago in Scotland 54% supported smoking rooms in Scotland. In a UK-wide version in June 2016 59% supported indoor smoking rooms. The mainstream media need to stop parroting antismoker propaganda…

    See the following from FOREST on the polls: “Almost 60% would allow smoking rooms in pubs and clubs in Wales”

    http://taking-liberties.squarespace.com/blog/2017/3/26/almost-60-would-allow-smoking-rooms-in-pubs-and-clubs-in-wal.html

  7. Rose says:

    H/T Dick Puddlecote

    Smoking ban in beer gardens and al-fresco dining areas rejected by ministers
    13 April 2017

    “A smoking ban in beer gardens and al-fresco dining areas has been blocked by the Government after ministers warned they would infringe on people’s freedom and lead to pub closures.
    The proposals to extend the ban to outdoor areas were have been included in a list of demands by councils and health authorities in London which has been supported by Sadiq Khan, the Labour Mayor of London.

    However the Government has rejected the plans and condemned “labour’s municipal killjoys” for making the proposal.
    Marcus Jones, a minister for local government, said: “We already knew that Labour councils charge higher council taxes and levy more red tape.
    “Now Labour’s municipal killjoys have been caught with a smoking gun, trying to ban adults enjoying their local pub garden. If implemented, these ill-founded proposals would lead to massive pub closures.”

    “Conservatives in Government will be vetoing these Labour Party plans. Ahead of May’s local elections, local voters have a right to know the bad and mad ideas that are being peddled by Labour councillors.”
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/04/13/smoking-ban-beer-gardens-al-fresco-dining-areas-rejected-ministers/

    What a refreshing change.

  8. Rose says:

    Frank could you delete my post, somehow I didn’t see the other two saying the same thing.

  9. Pingback: Missive From ‘Merica: Sonny… Boy! – Library of Libraries

No need to log in

