Sheer Hypocrisy

The thing that got my goat, when people started shrieking and howling over the latest thing Trump said, was the sheer hypocrisy of it all.

When Donald Trump called for a sweeping ban on Muslims entering the US he received an avalanche of criticism:

Mia Farrow, actress: “Yes of course. Trump is a fascist”

Stephen King, author: “That anyone in America would even CONSIDER voting for this rabid coyote leaves me speechless”

J.K. Rowling, author: “Voldemort was nowhere near as bad”

Boris Johnson, London Mayor: “The only reason I wouldn’t go to some parts of New York is the real risk of meeting Donald Trump”

Piers Morgan, journalist: “Donald, you’re wrong. Your demand is so completely, utterly and dangerously wrong that I can’t sit back and say nothing”

Jeremy Corbyn, Labour leader: “Trump’s call to ban Muslims from entering the US is an attack on democratic values and affront to common humanity”

Zac Goldsmith, Conservative politician: ‘Donald Trump is an appalling creature and I just pray that when America gets off this funfair ride that they’re on at the moment, they recognise that Donald Trump is one of the most malignant figures in modern politics”

Jeb Bush, US politician: “Donald Trump is unhinged”

Lindsey Graham, US politician: “You know how you make America great again? Tell Donald Trump to go to hell”

Jack Dromey, shadow home office minister: “I do not believe that a man who stirs up religious and racial hatred at a time when our country is under threat of terrorist attack should be allowed within 1,000 miles of our shores”

The hypocrisy? The hypocrisy is that, while calling for freedom of movement and tolerance for Muslims, most likely all these people are busy practising the most complete intolerance towards smokers, as they systematically strip them of the freedom to smoke anywhere.

For example, Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn has no compunction in saying “Trump’s call to ban Muslims from entering the US is an attack on democratic values and affront to common humanity”, while he himself voted (in disregard of his own party’s manifesto) to ban smoking in public places, “exile smokers to the outdoors”, and effectively expel them from society. What hypocrisy.  What inhumanity.

Jeremy Corbyn sees Muslims as sharing our “common humanity”, but not smokers.

And that’s why I have no time whatsoever for him or any of his fellow hypocrites.

And it’s not a trivial matter that Trump is addressing. What’s at stake in all this is nothing less than the continuing existence of sovereign nation states. 

“You have to do something to secure the border,” Trump said. “We don’t have a country without a border. Without a border, we just don’t have a country.”

The same applies in Europe and everywhere else. If you want “the free movement of peoples across the EU”, you want the liquidation of every single sovereign state in Europe. You want no more Britain, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, etc, etc. And you also won’t be wanting the languages and cultures that have grown up in these sovereign states over hundreds (and even thousands) of years either.

Donald Trump is quite right to want to secure America’s borders. Any American patriot would have the same goal. And any English patriot. And any French patriot. And so on.

In what sense is it any different to wish to secure the borders of a country than it is to wish to secure one’s own house and home from intruders? If you will not defend your own country, you will not defend your own home either. You will in effect be abolishing the ownership of all property, and bring everything into common or public ownership. You wouldn’t be able to own a house, or a car, or even a pair of shoes.

I don’t know whether Trump’s proposal to stop all Muslim immigration is practicable. But something has to be done. No wonder Trump’s numbers are up again.

And after Trump’s Muslim comments, he is up eight points in South Carolina. I’m telling you, folks, they are just speechless and stunned no matter where you look inside the Washington establishment. The Republican Party, Democrat Party, media, think tanks, you name it. They can’t believe this. And I said yesterday, I have never seen the disconnect like it is today. I’ve never seen the people that run this country, the leaders of our country in Washington — I have never seen in my lifetime, and even in the recent history prior to my birth.

The disconnect is just as great in the UK. And I dare say right the way across Europe too.

 

About Frank Davis

smoker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sheer Hypocrisy

  1. Roobeedoo2 says:

    Rand Paul is sticking up for Trump:

    http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2015-12-10/rand-paul-backs-trump-unleashes-top-ten-things-make-obama-unqualified-office

    I don’t know that much about him, but I like his dad. Ron Paul wasn’t able to make the breakthrough but then he didn’t have a Trump figure taking the flack from the brat pack. Would Americans on here like to see Rand Paul in the Whitehouse? Genuine question from this side of the Pond.

    • Frank Davis says:

      So is Rupert Murdoch.

    • smokervoter says:

      Yo Roob. That would be me, I’m an avid Rand Paul supporter. He’s the only Republican candidate I fully support.

      I voted for his dad in 2008 and 2012 (in the primaries) and I voted for him in 1988 in the general when he was a full-on Libertarian.

      Unfortunately Rand Paul has run a lacklustre campaign and it looks like he won’t be the candidate this time around. He’s a young man and it’s my fervent hope that his time will eventually come.

      For now I want him to get back to Kentucky and concentrate on keeping his Senate seat. His voice is crucial to our freedoms.

      Although I’ve been a Republican voter since 1976 there are some real stinkers in the pack this cycle, especially when it comes to smokers’ issues.

      The worst are John Kasich, Rick Santorum, Mike Huckabee and Chris Christie, none of whom are in serious contention.

      Ted Cruz may have sent a dog-whistle message to us when he said during a debate that his secret service nickname would be Cohibe (a cuban cigar). Don’t know much about Rubio and smoking, would like to learn more though as he’s a serious contender who could well beat Hillary Clinton.

      I will vote for any Republican (including The Donald, who I’m finally warming up to) over Hillary. She’s the godmother of the antismoking movement. Her decision to ban smoking at the White House in January 1993 officially set the whole sordid crusade off in the first place.

      • Roobeedoo2 says:

        Hi SV – I hope you well :D

        Ted Cruz attempted the filibuster, didn’t he, on Obamacare? I actually saw that live on the internet, watched him reading out ‘Green Eggs and Ham’ to his children for their bedtime. ‘Mr Smith Goes to Washington’ is one of my favourite movies. Big Jimmy Stewart fan ;)

        Hillary is a nightmare… Just No *shudders*

      • Frank Davis says:

        I quite liked libertarian Rand Paul. But didn’t Rand Paul also think that the Confederate flag should be made illegal? Why? That seemed a bit pointlessly authoritarian. But what do I know?

  2. Tony says:

    I am not religious although I was brought up as a Christian. I strongly support freedom of belief, worship and so forth. Recently finding out more about Islam and Sharia law has been shocking.

    There is a fundamental conflict between Sharia law and British law. We cannot have both.

    I’m inclined to believe that the vast majority of Muslims do not support Sharia. But if a Muslim leaves the religion then that is regarded as apostasy which is punishable by death under Sharia law. It would only take a small number of people in their community to frighten people into silence.

    So unfortunately I do think we have a problem. I don’t pretend to have a full solution but I don’t think religious leaders should be advocating a legal system that is at odds with British law.

    That said, I don’t agree with Donald Trump. But I do think we need more caution.

    The following video is very disturbing I’m afraid. Particularly from about 3 minutes in.

    • Jonathan Bagley says:

      I listened recently to a R4 programme on Connect, and organisation which attempts to de-radicalise Muslims, One of the interviewees maintained that modern mainstream Muslim teaching is that the law of the country one lives in supersedes Sharia law.

    • edith482 says:

      Yes, very disturbing and didn’t Ed Miliband pledge that his party would make ‘Islamophobia’ a criminal offence ?

    • I don’t really know how things are in the UK, to be honest, but in some sense, I find that I almost agree with Trump. It’s not that I think they shouldn’t be allowed in the US; our Constitution does guarantee freedom of religion, and I think that’s an important pillar of our nation. But I do think that when these muslims come to America, they need to leave off the pajamas in public, the head and face covering crap — this is America, which has always been a melting pot — you cannot blend in if you look that different. It also affronts me to see women covering their faces like that, as if they don’t have a right to breathe as freely as the rest of us; it’s just WRONG. Beyond that, I think there should be a REQUIREMENT for ANY immigrant to the US, to SPEAK ENGLISH!!!!!!! If you want to live here and not just visit, then you need to be able to communicate with the rest of America! I’m really really tired of all the non-English jabbering I hear everywhere. If they want to speak their native language, they should stay in their native country.

  3. Deckard says:

    Hello, Frank. I am a spanish follower of your web. I don’t speak english very well, but I’ll try it.Congratulations on your fight against smoking bans.

    • Frank Davis says:

      ¡Bienvenido! I can speak Spanish a little bit. I used to visit Spain every year until the smoking ban was imposed.

      • Deckard says:

        Thanks, Frank.I usually read your coments, but I’m not sure if I’m writing is correct in English or no, I beg your pardon.I usually write in Spanish in Lecroix’s blog. I agree wtih you: while smoke ban is in Spain it’s better you no come here:)

No need to log in

