A Billion Lives

I gather there’s a movie out called A Billion Lives. I think it’s about ‘vaping’ or something. And Aaron Biebert, its director, has said:

It seems that many pro-smoking advocates would like to hurt our film because they are delusional veterans of a lost war. Lost.

It’s laughable to me that they are still fighting. It reminds me when they found Japanese soldiers on an island many years after WWII was done. They were still on alert, waiting for orders. They were still at war.

However did he guess?

I instantly recognised myself, of course. I had, after all, just returned from my look-out post on the island’s lone peak, from which I gaze out daily upon the distant blue horizon, waiting for the fleet to arrive.

But are we veterans really ‘delusional’? Who says the war is lost? He mentions ‘an island’, a single island with a few soldiers on it. But I think there are many, many such islands. And they form an archipelago that stretches all around the entire globe. And I reckon that there’s at least 1.5 billion veteran smokers on those islands. That’s half a billion more lives than he’s got. Surely the war is only lost when all those islands have been invaded and declared smoke-free, and all the soldiers on them taken captive? And that most certainly hasn’t happened yet.

I know this because I have constructed a sort of radio set, from bamboo and wire and glass. It has allowed me into a sort of “global information web” which simply didn’t exist in the past. And it has let me make contact with veterans all over the world. A month or two back I was chatting to some Russian smokers. And yesterday to an Israeli smoker. And I’m in regular communication with numerous British and American smokers. There are still a lot of us!

So, yes, I’m still at war. And I’m still on alert.

I think this Aaron Biebert is bit of a defeatist. We used to shoot people like him. And after deciding that one war has been lost, it seems that he’s now fighting some other war that he also thinks has been lost.

Sadly, the vaping war is nearly lost as well. If vaping is going to survive, the tactics must be non-conventional. The people fighting it must actually rally around something. They must stop fighting each other…stop fighting their few remaining allies.

I don’t know much about this ‘vaping’. I grow tobacco on the hillside below the peak, and I smoke it in a coconut pipe.

But if he decides not to surrender in this new war of his, I agree that the tactics must be unconventional. But I’m not sure that people need to rally around something. I think they just need to rally together. They must discuss ways of resisting, ways of fighting back. They must be imaginative. They must try out a few ideas.

Anyway, I must get on. Today’s the day when I strip down and clean my rifle again. I do it once a month. I’ve still got four bullets for it.  I used to have seven, but I used up three of them on defeatists.

I’ll never give up. I will never surrender. And I want my rifle to be clean and polished. Because one day the fleet will arrive.

About Frank Davis

smoker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to A Billion Lives

  1. harleyrider1978 says:

    Cleaned and ready Frank with 15,000 rounds at the ready…………

    • harleyrider1978 says:

      Making my own at home

      • harleyrider1978 says:

        • harleyrider1978 says:

          My army time as a Tanker 1976 at 17 years old

        • prog says:

          Harley out on the range. Well – shooting it anyway….whatever….that is the best photo you’ve ever posted here!! More like it please, including one on a horse!

          One thing, does the bandana mask mean you’re one of the bad guys? Another, were you ever one of the injuns when you were a kid.?

        • harleyrider1978 says:

          That’s what I wore for the Halloween dress up at the bingo hall Halloween nite. Yes I wore the real gun all nite,but I kept it unloaded so nobody who might be tempted to grab it would keeo everyone safe. I kept my other 3 inch colt in my vest Im wearing loaded in a vest pocket. No I never was the Indians………..I didn’t have a bow and arrows my buddies did.

        • prog says:

          Fantastic.

          We used to do parties (before you know what…happy days) and I once went to a fancy dress party as a cross between a werewolf and a BeeGee (not that difficult!). 70s suit, fangs, big hair all over my face and what I, and others, regarded as the piece de resistance – a beer bottle stuffed down the front of my flares. God, There were definitely a few whoops from the women I ‘attacked’.

      • harleyrider1978 says:

        US NAVY when I was working flight simulators and ejection seat systems for jet fighters

  2. Frank Davis says:

    Looking good, Harley!

  3. The Blocked Dwarf says:

    I’m a Brit. I don’t need a gun, I have a forehead….VAPE THIS BIEBERT!

  4. Cecily Collingridge says:

    I am a female Brit holed up in my snug hideout. I have to be more circumspect but I’m still attacking on multiple fronts (and have back up plans up my sleeve) on the basis that the pen is mightier than the sword. This year’s offensives have been:
    1. to submit a complaint to the Advertising Standards Authority about NHSsmokefree’s New Year’s ‘Stop the Rot’ ad on TV and the internet.
    2. to complain about the treatment of smokers in my area in this year’s local authority crime survey (hate crime);
    3. to challenge my county council’s grants to sports clubs in return for reps attending NHSsmokefree sessions to get them to stop people smoking at the clubs. I also asked for the evidence to support their figures on the number of people who have supposedly died from smoking-related diseases in the county and when they replied they were attributable fractions derived from national data, I told them they should therefore be honest with the public and state the figures were Estimates only, not actual mortality figures. I also cited a paper in a journal that questioned the meaning and worth of attributable fractions, per se. (I will take this further eventually as I have some experience of statistics).
    4. I complained about the politicisation of healthcare and the harmful effects of the lifestyle ‘blame the patient’ propaganda in the ‘education’ component of the Pulmonary Rehabilitation programme I went on that I described as being like a Stalinist gulag or programme to turn me into a Stepford Wife in the patient satisfaction questionnaire. I also mentioned the fact that for years tobacco control ads have stigmatised respiratory diseases and patients and that they (the company) are as morally corrupt as the health charities instrumental in this stigmatisation.
    5. I sent a copy of the full 10-page feedback to my Clinical Commissioning Group too who asked me to escalate it to a formal complaint so that they can make a full investigation (awaiting response)

    I’m toying with the idea of writing a play with a cast of all smokers to test censorship in the arts.

    • junican says:

      Well done, Cecily! Does that not illustrate how difficult it is for smokers to defend themselves? Archaic discussions in Parliament mean nothing, either here or there. They are all fixed by the passion of the Zealots. For example, MPs NEVER ask for proof that children are harmed by SHS. When I say ‘proof’,I do not mean perfect proof. I mean only substantial evidence. Statistical blather is not enough.
      Why did the ‘smoking ban in cars with kids present’ pass? There is absolutely no REAL LIFE EVIDENCE, and yet Parliament ‘knee-jerked’ the motion through. If MPs can be emotionally manipulated in that matter, why should we not assume that the can be emotionally manipulated ALL THE TIME?

  5. Lepercolonist says:

    It looked gloomy in Great Britain in 1940. Just surrender Aaron Biebert ? Surrender to Prohibition in the U.S. between 1920 to 1933 ? Defeatist mofo…

    • harleyrider1978 says:

      Even the Nazis don’t want it to last forever. Theyd have to disband and nothing left to keep them going. Like I said even former prohibitionists finally admitted all they had done was wrong and what it caused. They learned yet they created new non profits to stat it all over again decades later. Theyre first plan was invent new groups who would spend decades building public trust and then slowly move back into prohibition mode again.

      ACS ALA AHA Wellman Group etc etc…………

  6. John Watson says:

    Lost the war? Nope, like Japanese soldiers on an island who didn’t know the war had ended? In a way perhaps we are, but we are closer to Leonides with his 300 Spartans at Thermopylae who paved the way for Salamis thus bringing about democracy, or Spartacus who proved that a slave was equal to any Roman, or Sophie Scholl whose White Rose organisation stood firm against Hitler and his Nazis. Such is the spirit and pedigree of the small number of smokers resisting the tyranny of the Anti-smoking Industry.

  7. smokingscot says:

    The real story is truly remarkable. This one’s about a chap in the Philippines who still had his uniform and whose rifle was still serviceable after three decades holed up in a jungle.

    Each and every one of them returned to Japan to a hero’s welcome. They all received their back pay that included a very generous adjustment for inflation.

    This chap did very good things once the dust had settled and passed away peacefully at age 91 in Jan 2014

    http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/jan/17/hiroo-onoda-japanese-soldier-dies

  8. prog says:

    ….passed away peacefully at age 91 in Jan 2014..

    (Allegedly)

  9. harleyrider1978 says:

    • prog says:

      There are quite a few words whose meanings don’t travel well across the pond. E.g. fag, fanny, pants, hooker, shag, rubber, spunk and trump.

      Do you remember that US all girl band Twat, sorry, Fanny? Saw them way way back. You know those times when teen girls faint and have to rescued from the audience? They had to do the same for a bloke.

  10. slugbop007 says:

    The Guardian just sent me an email asking me to subscribe. This was my reply:
    Madam, Sir
    The Guardian has been my newspaper of choice for over forty years but I no longer consider it to be ‘fearless, open and free’.
    Your shameless, undying support for the hysterical pronouncements of taxpayer funded, parasitic Public Health zealots everywhere is an insult to the tenets of traditional, fair minded, professional journalism.

    Richard Riewer

  11. slugbop007 says:

    Aaron Biebert could be the Second Coming of Leni Riefenstall. Great at propaganda.
    Check his credentials here:
    https://www.linkedin.com/in/biebert

  12. slugbop007 says:

    The WHO is more concerned with making sure that we all live to hundred years old rather than taking radical steps to eliminate annual infant mortality deaths. We have an idea how much Bloomberg, Gates and national governments spend. I wonder which problem gets a bigger slice of the pie at the WHO?
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Infant_mortality
    Wikipedia April 2015:
    Child mortality is the death of a child before the child’s fifth birthday, measured as the Under-5 Child Mortality Rate (U5MR). National statistics sometimes group these two mortality rates together. Globally, ten million infants and children die each year before their fifth birthday; 99% of these deaths occur in developing nations. Infant mortality takes away society’s potential physical, social, and human capital.
    The infant mortality rate is one of three indicators used to monitor achievements towards the Fourth Goal of the eight Millennium Development Goals. This goal’s target value is to “Reduce by two-thirds, between 1990 and 2015, the under-five mortality rate”.
    We have reached Year 2015
    Success or Failure?

  13. slugbop007 says:

    In 2014 Tobaccofreekids tells it like it is. According to their figures, only 1.9 percent of the Master Settlement is being spent blah blah blah yadda yadda yadda …
    http://www.tobaccofreekids.org/microsites/statereport2015/
    Thanks for the info Tobaccofreekids!

    • harleyrider1978 says:

      SLUG the MSA was bought up by wall street from crooked money hungry liberal states,that pushed and pushed so much anti this and that laws that when tobacco sales fell due to blackmarket forces over legal sales the states couldn’t make their payments on the bonds. Then the states took all the money and put it into their general funds to plug holes in their budgets.

  14. slugbop007 says:

    http://www.who.int/gho/child_health/mortality/neonatal_infant_text/en/

    Global Health Observatory (GHO) data
    Data repository
    Reports
    Country statistics
    Map gallery
    Standards
    Infant mortality
    Situation and trends
    In 2015, 4.5 million (75% of all under-five deaths) occurred within the first year of life.
    The risk of a child dying before completing the first year of age was highest in the WHO African Region (55 per 1000 live births), over five times higher than that in the WHO European Region (10 per 1000 live births).
    Part of this reduction could be attributed to contraception, lower birthrates, wars and who knows what else.These statistics freaks are sneaky folks.

  15. slugbop007 says:

    I just clicked on this link:
    WHO | Maternal mortality
    http://www.who.int/gho/maternal_health/mortality/maternal_mortality…/en/
    Of the 800 daily maternal deaths, 500 occurred in sub-Saharan Africa and 190 in Southern Asia, compared to 6 in developed countries. The risk of a woman in a …
    This is the page I was sent to:
    http://www.who.int/gho/maternal_health/mortality/maternal_mortality_text/en/
    This page cannot be found
    The page or file you are trying to access cannot be found. This is because the web address is incorrect or the file has been moved or deleted.
    Maybe they are revamping their data? Oops!

  16. slugbop007 says:

    UNICEF report: Infant mortality rates still high
    By Barry Mason
    31 January 2008
    https://www.wsws.org/en/articles/2008/01/mort-j31.html
    A lengthy article with a good breakdown of the many causes of infant mortality.

  17. harleyrider1978 says:

    Medical marijuana users get OK from Ontario government to vaporize or smoke anywhere

    Employers, restaurant owners can still ban users from smoking on the premises

    http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/medical-marijuana-ontario-1.3337263

    ………………..

    Its no different than tobacco smoke chemical releases. Or did the government fail to recognize this. After all they banned tobacco for second hand smoke and pot is the same vegetative matter. Save THC over nicotine everything else is identical. So in effect the government is being hypocritical when it comes to smoke and the SHS jink science they used is no longer recognized then by the government because of this.

    • harleyrider1978 says:

      go for it,I dont need to read it…………you will laugh your ass off at this part though…..NDP Leader Andrea Horwath didn’t sound especially shocked by the exemption either.

      When asked what she would do if someone was smoking marijuana

      next to her at a restaurant, she laughed and said, “I’ll probably

      eat more.”

  18. Rose says:

    It’s laughable to me that they are still fighting

    He gives up easily, doesnt he?
    It’s only been eight years since the smoking ban. Prohibition took thirteen to be repealed.

    Dec. 5, 1933: Prohibition comes to an end in the United States

    “The 18th Amendment, which prohibited the production, distribution and sale of alcohol, easily ranks as the least popular amendment in U.S. history — and the only constitutional amendment ever to be repealed.

    When the 21st Amendment was ratified on this day, Dec. 5, in 1933, it ended Prohibition 13 years, 10 months, and 19 days after it began. The time had not passed quickly, according to journalist H.L. Mencken, who noted, “It seems almost a geologic epoch while it was going on, and the human suffering that it entailed must have been a fair match for that of the Black Death or the Thirty Years War.”

    http://time.com/3605609/a-toast-to-the-end-of-prohibition/

    • harleyrider1978 says:

      Like I was saying Miss Rose with the internet we should have been able to cut the time to repeal by at least a half to 1/3rd the time as last time.

  19. harleyrider1978 says:

    Frank one for the opposing graveyard

    http://www.sunherald.com/news/local/crime/article46710235.html

    One dead after shooting at Biloxi Waffle House

    BILOXI —

    A Waffle House customer shot and killed an employee after she told him to put out a cigarette at the U.S. 90 business in the early-morning hours Friday, police said.

    Biloxi police Sgt. Donnie Dobbs said the 52-year-old employee was shot in the head after arguing with the customer about smoking inside the restaurant around 1 a.m. Friday.

    The employee, who has not been identified pending notification of next of kin, died at Merit Health Biloxi a short time later. She had a suffered a single gunshot wound to the head.

    The customer, Johnny Max Mount, 45, was arrested as he was walking out of the restaurant. He was booked at the Harrison County jail on a charge of first-degree murder.

    Mount, Dobbs said, was armed with a 9 mm handgun at the time of the shooting.

    Mount, who lives on 100 block of Grandview Drive in Biloxi, is being held on a $2 million bond set by Justice Court Judge Albert Fountain.

    Read more here: http://www.sunherald.com/news/local/crime/article46710235.html#storylink=cpy

  20. harleyrider1978 says:

    Sounds like EPIC FAIL to me

    Kerala cracks whip against smoking in public places

    The police report stated that a total of 47,282 people were fined during the July-Sept this year for violating the no-public smoking provision law

    http://www.business-standard.com/article/news-ians/kerala-cracks-whip-against-smoking-in-public-places-115112700722_1.html

No need to log in

