The Doctor Mechanics

Following on from last night’s post about how it’s impossible for doctors to regulate lifestyles when they have little or no knowledge of anyone’s lifestyle, I’m reminded that our bodies (and perhaps also our minds) repair themselves.

We see examples of this all the time when we cut or burn ourselves in minor ways, and the wound soon heals over. Anyone who has broken a bone has the same experience, over a longer time span. And maybe the same is true of every single organ in the human body?

This is something that seems to be forgotten or ignored. Instead, we’ve taken to regarding the human body as being exactly like a car. And cars don’t repair themselves. If something goes wrong with a car it won’t ever (or hardly ever) get better of its own accord. We have to take the car to a garage where the damaged parts are replaced with new or reconditioned parts.

In fact, the last dentist I visited suggested that I “get an MOT” from my doctor. MOT stands for Ministry of Transport, and an MOT test is something all cars in the UK have to pass every year to remain on the road. Two problems with that suggestion: Firstly I don’t have a doctor, and secondly I’m not a car. And what if I failed my MOT test? Would I no longer be allowed out on the streets?

Doctors increasingly act like car mechanics these days. They measure people’s temperature and pressure just like they do. And then they find a new component to replace the old one, or apply some sort of brace or lubricant or spray. And if humans have now been reduced to just being cars in need of repair, then their humanity has got lost in the process. My car doesn’t repair itself, and it doesn’t have any dreams or secrets or memories either.  So our new doctor-mechanics suppose that people no more have an ‘inner life’ than cars do. In fact behaviourists rule out the existence of any ‘inner life’ at all in anything.

It occurs to me that one reason why our doctor-mechanics don’t like people smoking is for the same reason that car mechanics don’t like engines smoking. After all, smoky exhausts in cars signify inefficient combustion or oil leakages. Car mechanics try very hard to stop engines from smoking. And our doctor-mechanics do the same. Properly working car engines don’t belch smoke everywhere, and so properly working people shouldn’t blow smoke either.

And just like car mechanics running MOT tests, doctor-mechanics now come back with a list of things that are wrong with people, and that need to be fixed. High blood pressure, low sugar levels, etc, etc.

A friend of mine told me a while back that he’d had some tests done on his lungs and was told that he only had 60% lung capacity. But did they know what his original lung capacity was? Almost certainly not. I bet that not everybody has the same lung capacity, just like they don’t have the same height or weight. But people who are being treated like cars which all have 12 volt batteries fitted as standard. There’s a tacit assumption that everybody is basically exactly the same, just like cars of the same model.

I’ve been getting a little bit unsteady on my feet recently, and it’s become a new ‘malady’ for me to study. The hesitant and jerky movements I sometimes make have reminded me that my father used to make the same sudden jerky movements in his later years. He’d get up from his chair, and take a step or two, and then jerk sideways or backwards as if he’d been about to fall over or something. And in fact, at about the same age as I am, my father actually did fall over and break a hip.

My father died about 20 years ago, after suffering a stroke at home. My mother found him lying on the floor of our living room. And when they got him to hospital and scanned his head, they found the internal bleeding in his brain that is characteristic of strokes.

But today it occurred to me that maybe my father never had a ‘stroke’ at all. Maybe he just got up from his chair, and took a few steps, and lost his balance, and fell over. And when he fell over, he banged his head against a wall or a door or a bookcase. And it was that which caused the internal bleeding in his brain. In short, rather than the onset of a stroke causing him to fall down, he fell down and banged his head, which started bleeding internally. Cause and effect reversed.

After he had his stroke, my father was never able to speak. But one day he did something very strange while on a home visit, which was to climb onto a large concrete plant pot outside the kitchen window, and examine something on the wall. I found it inexplicable at the time, but I now think he may have been simply trying to demonstrate that he could keep his balance. Which he actually did very well.

Oddly enough, a few years later, my mother also took to falling over fairly regularly. I used to have to pull her back up onto her feet. Fortunately she never broke any bones on the wooden floor at home. But while staying in a local hospice, she fell and broke her hip on its unyielding concrete floor. And that was the beginning of the end for her too.

There seem to be a lot of people falling over and breaking hips these days. Hip Replacement has become a veritable industry for our doctor-mechanics. But nobody seems to study how people get to lose their balance and fall over in the first place, and nobody seems to suggest taking measures to soften the impact of a fall. I’ve never seen a public health broadcast that suggested that elderly people should wear padded belts and woollen hats (which would be a simple measure), or do exercises in keeping their balance. They’ll only ever tell them to stop smoking.

About Frank Davis

smoker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Doctor Mechanics

  1. cherie79 says:

    Before my lung surgery the surgeon said that my lung function was poor but I presented better than it suggested so should have the operation. I was not aware of any problem ans sailed through the major surgery, recovered quickly despite my 50 years of smoking. I agree we know our own bodies better than any Dr. ever can and this instinct has saved me from unnecessary treatment on a few occasions.

  2. harleyrider1978 says:

    Im personally on dry dock so to speak taken it easy for quite a spell…………Best thing I can think of but walking a half mile a day around the house. I calculated that at 7 trips then in the front door. But when its 100 plus and so humid outside I just prefer the A/C right now. Watching old movies and banging on the puter then wasting Saturday afternoon at bingo losing my ass as usual going home bytchin about it and then getting back to whatever.

    But Id rather be over at the farm helping my brother since he isn’t exactly farm/cattle savvy yet. Not that Im a big expert or anything but at least I know enuf to lay one out get it going and making it pay for itself. Poor brother spent an hour just a minute ago begging me to come down and show him where a few things need to go and how to do it. At least I got him almost a pro on his bob cat and tractor……..

    • junican says:

      Cousin, you are so, so funny!! You are a genius! “….his bob cap and tractor” – hee, hee, hee! Genius!
      Seriously, I’m pleased to hear that you are recovering. It’s been quite a slog, hasn’t it?

      • harleyrider1978 says:

        Yep it sux like hell to wake up 4 days later tied to your bed at the feet and hands with boxing mits on and get told you were beating everybody up! That’s what morphine does to me………………..Ya its been a real drag. The hardest being getting your head to say ok your fine andcan do what you did before……..anxiety is a tough goose to cook. But im winning that. But when you get pain all over and keep on having it when a doc says yo should be fine and then discover its a med with side effects it has detrimental effects on your psyche to getting well from the head stand point as it keeps you well deep with anxiety.

    • Rose says:

      Sounds like it might do you some good to sit in the shade drinking an ice cold drink and shouting directions at him.
      Change of scene.

      • harleyrider1978 says:

        Rose dietary change is what really sux,my wifes still on the buy everything I cant really eat kick still. Not that I blame her just Im real stuck on not having another damned episode ever again………But whatever anybody does never take BIAXIN……..antibiotic its a killer drug just like statins.

        • harleyrider1978 says:

          I actually know people with 600 and 700 cholesterol counts that will not take statins or couldn’t because of severe side effects………

  3. junican says:

    What I determine from Frank’s post is that it is possible for individual doctors to identify a disease or condition in an individual patient. What doctors, collectively, cannot do is identify diseases in a collective group of patients UNLESS a disease can be readily identified and is ‘endemic’ locally and generally in a population. Thus, flu is easily identified in a local group. Smoking, despite the best endeavours of the Zealots to describe it as such, is not a disease, nor is it the cause of a disease. It is not a bacterium or a virus. Therefore, smoking is not a matter which should concern ‘Health’. This has been important to me for some time. It should be a matter of concern to ‘Safety’. If that were the case, then proper scientific calculations could be made – how ‘safe’ is a smoky bar? Or rather, how UNSAFE is a smoky bar. Why was the ban on smoking in private property cars when young adults are present enacted? It can only be because MPs at the time were very careless. It would be very like kids in a laboratory playing with Bunsen burners and arsenic unsupervised. What is the most likely scenario:
    1) A vehicle pile up because a driver was desperate for a fag.
    2) A pile up because a driver was NOT desperate for a fag.

    I rest my case.

    • harleyrider1978 says:

      Funny part is sitting in traffic all the exhaust leeching right into the auto with the kiddos…….and they worry about a single fag being smoked……….roflmao

  4. John Watson says:

    On a few occasions I have made the comparison between the human body and the motor car/ internal combustion engine, particularly in the way in which they run. Those who have owned several cars will have noted that if they bought from the same manufacturer there would usually be similar issues between models, those who bought from different manufacturers would find different issues but also they would be similar throughout the range of models. These can be best described as genetic or generic faults.

    The same I think is true of people, those in the same family tend to suffer similar illnesses, When people have children these are often passed down, one side or the others family traits are often stronger so sometimes some faults skip a generation or two but eventually resurface.

    The big difference between a Doctor and a Mechanic is that mechanics learn the different foibles in a given manufacturers models, they know where to look for the problem so fixing it is usually straightforward, Doctors however often do not know the genetic traits of their patients unless they ask or are told, they often make inaccurate diagnosis’s due to a lack of information of family histories, some will even make a quick diagnosis due to time constrains/number of patients and treat the underlying symptoms instead of the actual illness until the illness becomes clear.

    The fault does not necessarily lie with the Doctor but with the system they work under, wherever there is over regulation or political/peer pressure then doctors cannot function as well as they should and patients suffer because of it.

    • Rose says:

      On the rare occasions I have gone to the doctor, I have given him my observations to help with the diagnosis to be met with incredulity and questioned as to why. Simple answer, I have me under 24 hour observation.
      Perhaps they prefer some kind of guessing game.

      Last time, I got two different different opinions from two different doctors about a rash on my shin just above my ankle and when the first treatment failed the second doctor who really does listen to you, correctly diagnosed psoriasis and gave me some cream.
      When that didn’t work, I used logic and instead of using the cream to keep it wet, I used talc to keep it dry,which worked very quickly.

      That was the winter of 2012 where the weather had been persistantly overcast all summer and the light levels low.
      The marks left by the rash finally disappeared within four days of me putting on a sundress and sunbathing in the garden, in a rare hot spell.
      Now I know that the psoriasis over winter was caused by a vitamin D deficiency because of the low light levels the previous summer, my mind is completely at rest about it and it hasn’t troubled me since, whereas when the rash started I was really quite alarmed especially when it wouldn’t heal despite four different types of medical treatment.

  5. Well, in the UK, doctors just follow the instructions they are told to (and get paid for ) to treat every condition in EXACTLY the same way. That’s called evidence based medicine god help us.

    • harleyrider1978 says:

      Their so called evidence isn’t even proven. Their cure will kill you in to many cases.

      Im still suffering tendon and muscle pain from the statin drug they gave me. My family doc who smokes was worried the damn stuff could have harmed my kidneys or liver and did testing all fine and perfect levels on cholesterol even after being off the statin for a week.

      The nurses and others all told me it can take weeks to months for the side effects to wear off………..Its been 2 weeks off and Im still feeling the traveling pains in my body. Milder but still there.

      • harleyrider1978 says:

        So for now Im eating a so called heart healthy diet for the most part and smoking about a pack a day or less depending. Plavix doesn’t seem to bother me that I can tell of yet. But even with Plavix Ive read it can become addictive itself.

    • yvonnebones says:

      Yes. The complete arrogance of NICE in the UK (National Institute for Clinical Excellence – Orwellian if ever a example was needed) and the doctors that use the instruction manual instead of their God given intellect. Paint by numbers physicians. Tests come back within normal range despite symptoms is like saying size 5 shoe is the average for females, but if you wear size 5 shoes when you have size 3 feet you’d be really uncomfortable or even worse if you wear size 5 and your shoe size is 8, but yet people go untreated because the tests are ‘normal’.
      Walk down any high street in the UK and you will countless NHS failings. I have even heard doctors saying that most GPs in the UK are unable to diagnose. I imagine that they pass the medical board exams because they have good memories and comply with the NICE instruction manual. Hardly surprising that so many doctors love the word compliance. If you do not give up smoking you are non-compliant.
      Medical records compound the errors made by previous doctors and patients are in a viscous cycle of poor health.

  6. roobeedoo2 says:

    They reckon Cilla Black died of a rare form of stroke caused by her fall. That might be worth looking at, Frank:

    http://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2015/aug/14/cilla-black-head-injury-accidental-death-inquest

    Celebrity = lots of media coverage of lead up to death.

  7. waltc says:

    Just curious, Harley. What did biaxin do to you?

  8. harleyrider1978 says:

No need to log in

