Nightmare Scenario

This Daily Mail story seems to have worried a few people:

Farage reveals he is suffering chronic back pain… and it’s so bad he even thought about quitting smoking to see if it would help

Nigel Farage is considering quitting smoking because of ‘terrible’ back pain

UKIP leader wasn’t ‘firing on all cylinders’ at the start of election campaign

Suffering from flare-up of spinal injury and been prescribed sleeping pills

Well, we’ll just have to wait and see. But it goes to show how the hopes of many UK smokers rest upon a single man, to the point that the thought that he might stop smoking induces something like panic.

Simon Clark throws in another spin ball with his own assessment of UKIP:

Ukip is the exception when it comes to tobacco but that’s largely due to the influence of Nigel Farage. If Farage fails to win a seat in parliament and steps down as party leader it’s entirely feasible his successor will quietly drop Ukip’s opposition to the smoking ban and other tobacco control policies. It’s happened before and it could happen again.

So even if Nigel Farage hasn’t stopped smoking (yet), he may not be elected in Thanet South, and will be forced to step down as UKIP leader, and his successor will promptly reverse UKIP’s policy on smoking.

I’m not sure whether this is actually anywhere near the truth. The trouble with Farage is that he outshines everyone else in his party, and most people have no idea how other key figures think. But I suspect that they’re broadly of the same opinion as him on most matters, and that probably includes the smoking ban.

Nevertheless, one might imagine a variety of nightmare scenarios. Like: Nigel Farage is not elected in Thanet South in 10 days time, and steps down as UKIP party leader. The new leader, David Kiljoy, announces that UKIP’s policy on smoking is being brought in line with the other parties. “Let’s face it,” he says, “Nobody wants to see smoking in pubs ever again. Our policy probably cost us millions of votes.” Nigel Farage agrees, announcing he is quitting both smoking and drinking. “If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em,” he declares, adding that he will shortly be joining the board of ASH to help stamp out the last vestiges of smoking in the UK….

We can all let our imaginations run wild. But I intend to vote UKIP regardless of these various pieces of speculation. And we only have to wait another 10 days anyway.

About Frank Davis

smoker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Nightmare Scenario

  1. harleyrider1978 says:

    I still think Farage was threatened the same as all the rest and he isn’t saying jack shit about it.

    The Nazis pulled a big one on him and next he will likely be doing quit seminars for the Nazis elites.

  2. roobeedoo2 says:

    The Wail hates smokers and Ukip – Frank, this looks like MSM election propaganda and smells like desperation.

  3. jaxthefirst says:

    Speaking as one of the people you cite as being concerned about the possibility of Farage’s quitting smoking and becoming an instant anti, yes, it is a shame that for many smokers all our hopes and fears rest so much on the shoulders of (effectively) one single person. But that, unfortunately, is the way it is for us these days. I’ve just been going through the voting records of all MPs on the most recent smoking-related items of legislation, and the number of MPs who, by their voting record, have shown themselves to be staunchly anti smoker-bullying are few and far between – and even those are members of largely anti-smoking parties who they have to contend with every time they might want to vote in defence of smokers, so, much though we might appreciate their support, it’s unlikely that they’ll ever be able to bring about the change in anti-smoking attitudes that we need all the time their parties remain firmly behind the anti-smoking cause. Farage is different – and stands alone as our one beacon of hope in a world full of present prejudice and likely further persecution in the future – because (at least, to date) both he and his party have shown themselves to be against smoker-bullying. That’s why, for us, he really is the only hope we’ve got of any possibility of ever being treated like decent human beings by our own Government, or indeed even considered as human beings at all. It may well be, as you say, that UKIP will stick to its guns with or without Farage at the helm, but, having seen the Tories swing from the traditional preservers of individual liberties to enthusiastic smoker-despisers, I’m afraid that with me it’s now a case of “once bitten, twice shy.”

  4. Actually, if my own experience is any indication, Farage’s results are likely to be the opposite. I’ve always had a fairly severe spinal curve, one that’s gotten more severe over the years.

    Fortunately, it’s like a corkscrew, so I end up actually looking moderately straight!
    Unfortunately, it makes standing, walking, or “normal” sitting quickly painful.
    Strangely, it is bicycle-friendly: the tilted, stretched, shifting position is perfect for my spine!
    Weirdly, sitting is fine as long as I “squat” in different positions!

    In any event… when I’ve been in situations where I’ve not smoked for a day or two during family affairs or traveling or other activities, my back becomes a disaster zone. No idea just why, and it’s possible it correlates just as strongly with unusual activity, but the avoidance of smoking, at least in the shorter term DEFINITELY does not help. And some new research studies at

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC526783/

    indicate that nicotine can be VERY effecting in reducing pain. E.G. women having gynecological surgery had their expressed/felt pain cut almost in half by a simple application of nicotine nasal spray. No *WONDER* women in their 60s/70s today report that they used to smoke like chimneys in the maternity wards! Imagine how many women come out of the birthing experience nowadays addicted to all sorts of nasty pain-killer drugs simply because hospitals refused to allow them a space to smoke.

    – MJM

    • Rose says:

      Glaxo

      1999

      “This partnership with the World Health Organization offers great promise in the effort to reduce tobacco dependence and thus reduce the significant health costs and burden of tobacco-related illnesses and deaths,” said Sir Richard Sykes, Chairman, Glaxo Wellcome plc. “As a company, our commitment is to fighting disease. Tobacco dependence is in every sense of the word a disease with major but reversible health implications. Together, we can defeat this disease.”
      http://web.archive.org/web/20130530064615/http://www.who.int/inf-pr-1999/en/pr99-04.html

      Glaxo, Targacept sign $1.5 bln nicotine drug deal
      Jul 27, 2007

      “GlaxoSmithKline Plc (GSK.L) aims to harness the positive effects of nicotine through a drug development alliance potentially worth more than $1.5 billion with U.S. biotech firm Targacept Inc.

      Shares in Targacept, which was spun out of the research arm of R.J. Reynolds Tobacco in 2000, jumped 14 percent to $10.25 in early trade on the Nasdaq on Friday after the two companies unveiled the deal.

      The goal is to develop drugs that affect similar pathways within the brain as nicotine to treat pain and a range of other disorders.”
      http://www.reuters.com/article/2007/07/27/us-glaxosmithkline-alliance-targacept-idUSL2727104720070727

      Nothing beneficial in tobacco, huh?

      They broke up in 2011

      “Targacept, a Winston-Salem-based drug developer which also has a major development partnership with AstraZeneca, said the decision to terminate the relationship with GSK resulted from the pharmaceutical giant’s strategic shift away from neurosciences in general last year. GSK has shed hundreds of jobs related to neuroscience research in the past year, including about 50 job cuts in Research Triangle Park announced in February.”

      I do think that whatever pills and potions are developed “that affect similar pathways within the brain”( neonicotinoids, anyone? ) will be far more expensive and harder to get on prescription than a tobacco leaf, punishment taxes notwithstanding.

    • Frank Davis says:

      I had an antismoking friend (that sounds like a contradiction in terms these days) who suffered from back pain. He used to sleep on the floor. But he was an avid cyclist as well. He said that his problem was that he had a long spine (and actually he did).

      He was the first person I knew to ban smoking in his flat, so for many years I used to only ever see him at pubs, where he’d quite happily sit inside with all the smokers. I haven’t seen him since the pub smoking ban came in. Nowhere to meet any more.

    • harleyrider1978 says:

      Mike Ive had Scoliosis all my life and the pinched nerves that go with it. Sometimes at nite unbearable with sciatica to boot that famed finger nails down a chalkboard feeling as you try to sleep………..but enuf of that have another smoke and flip the finger at quitters and traitors.

  5. cherie79 says:

    I would never have survived a three day labour in the 60s without my cigarettes, must have gone through about 60

    • beobrigitte says:

      Me, too….. My first labour lasted 4 days; during the first 3 days of it I ‘smoked for Britain’ – it really did help a lot!!! In the last 16 hours there were complications due to my offspring being well above ‘average’ weight and I was too doped up on pethidene to stand up, let alone make it to the smoking lounge. I had the feeling that my lower spine first was being squashed and then twisted every 2 minutes at first, then virtually constantly when I tried to move.
      Following delivery my offspring was briefly examined, I was told the Apgar score was 10 – and I uttered that I would LOVE a coffee and a CIGARETTE… Unfortunately I couldn’t have both straight away, needed a bit of surgery first. I made up for it once I was finally taken to the ward!!!

      • cherie79 says:

        I ended up on Pethadine too and with a glucose drip for exhaustion, don’t think you are allowed to go that long now and would get a c section. I remember too having an ashtray by my bed, you had to bring one in and I remember it to this day, young Drs. find it hard to believe now.

  6. Indeed, cherie! Towards the end of my first child being born (1972), my midwife hauled me into a wheelchair and hurtled me along to the hospital smoking lounge, lit a cigarette for me and popped it in my mouth, carefully taking it out during the odd contraction. Then back to delivery suite where daughter then born quite quickly. An act of great compassion and long nursing experience.

    • beobrigitte says:

      An act of great compassion and long nursing experience.

      Indeed! Although I was convinced that the first midwife looking after me parked her broom next to our car, the next one was wonderful! She came up to the ward as I was just settling in and the first thing she did was offering a wheelchair so I’d get my coffee and ciggie. I did tell her that I already had been for both…

      • cherie79 says:

        I remember that little round green ashtray very fondly, I kept it for years until it broke. Last time I was in a smoking lounge was in 1991 when I had a hysterectomy but that was a private hospital it really got me on my feet to get to it! What is the make of the e cigs you posted, couldn’t quite make it out, thanks.

  7. Zaphod says:

    For me, Farage is UKIP. Ukip is Farage.

    I’m sure that there’s a high percentage of nutters among the party, I’m a nutter myself.
    The problem is, nutters are all different. I won’t have much in common with most other nutters.

    But, with or without Farage, and with or without their stand on smoking; they’re getting my vote for the foreseeable future. Where else would I go? Everyone else is Nanny State.
    Maybe I’d change my name to “None of the Above”, and stand for election. :-)

    Even if Boris takes over the Tories, they won’t get me back. Boris has developed a taste for power and control since he became Mayor, so I wouldn’t expect him to turn the Tories back to their old values. Alas.

    • roobeedoo2 says:

      I don’t think the Electoral Commission allows parties or candidates called ‘None of the Above’. Unless the rules have changed … I looked it up one idle afternoon a couple of years ago.

    • Frank Davis says:

      I agree about Boris. I rather liked Boris a few years ago. I’ve got a few of his books, sent to me free. I even got a cigar once. But it all wears off after a while.

  8. smokervoter says:

    Just a belated comment in response to two excellent Jaxisms© from Saturday’s “Black Hole” post, which I’ll label Jax the 1st and Jax the 2nd for proper context.

    “Looking at it from a very mercenary standpoint, he’d have done better to have kept smoking until at least May 7th – it’s only a couple of weeks, after all – after which time he would have reaped the benefit of all the smoker-votes and could then do as he pleased.”

    Jax the 1st

    And…

    “His decision to be photographed vaping instead of smoking is also a bit of a giveaway. It’s almost as if he (as one of the “newly-converted” – to continue the religious analogy) has already lost his awareness of the mindset of his smoker-voters and thinks that by puffing on a pretend cigarette, they’ll remain convinced that he’s still ‘on their side’.”

    Jax the 2nd

    My dear most eloquent lady Jax: Both of these typically astute observations on your part hit the nail squarely on the head. And this is coming from a lifelong carpenter, which gives it ultimate gravitas in my less-than-humble opinion (or IMLTHO). (Although I hate internet acronyms and initialisms with a passion.)

    However, might I suggest simply dropping the hyphenation and using the noun ‘smokervoter’ in its place.

    If I become famous for anything in this crazy mixed up world it’s my hope that it will be because I’ve coined a brand spanking-new word. A word which I hope will help to unite those 20%-30% of the electorate who hitherto have failed to form a powerful voting bloc in defense of their many imperilled liberties.

    Yours Truly,

    El Smokervoter©

    • Barry Homan says:

      Using an e-cig is nothing new for Nigel. I saw a vid of him over a year ago, he was calmly puffing on an e-cig, and giving his positive views on the virtues of this smoking alternative.

      • beobrigitte says:

        Using an e-cig is nothing new for Nigel.

        As far as I know he uses an e-cig in his Brussels office – or he did at least a while ago.

        I use an e-cigarette to stretch my (foreign bought) tobacco. There is NO WAY I will buy tobacco in England until I get A COMFORTABLE SMOKING-ROOM IN PUBS etc. again.
        This will change when kicks out the anti-smokers and allows pub owners/proprietors to decide whether to make space for smokers or not – and before the anti-smoking whiners announce that ‘this-does-not-work’ after a couple of month, the smoking establishments STAY for the next 7.5 years to match the last 7.5 years of anti-smokers’ dictation.

        Vaping is not smoking – therefore vapers may feel free to use their e-cigarette also in the NON-SMOKING establishments.

        • cherie79 says:

          I tried the e cig years ago and used it in hospital but was not too impressed. Can you recommend one worth trying again as they seem to have improved a lot.

        • beobrigitte says:

          Cherie, there are plenty of starter kits – I tried a couple and ended up with this:

          The dual coil lasts longer, too.

    • harleyrider1978 says:

      has already lost his awareness of the mindset of his smoker-voters and thinks that by puffing on a pretend cigarette, they’ll remain convinced that he’s still ‘on their side’.”

      Could just be an Ecig company gave ukip a handsome donation too……………..

      • harleyrider1978 says:

        Your right I don’t trust no damn body when you see shit like this happen 2 weeks from an election………..Weve seen this same crap here in America all to often

      • beobrigitte says:

        Harley, it’s the DM – UKIP haters. And it looks like the message that ‘Smokers are VOTERS’ is scaring the tobacco control infected parties. Deterring me from voting (locally for me) for UKIP.
        As it happens: Paul Nuttal (my local UKIP person):

        He is highly involved in the UKIP Save The Pub campaign, which highlights the issues surrounded the increase in pub closures in England. As part of this, he is strongly opposed to a blanket smoking ban enforced on all pubs and believes that individual landlords should choose whether to make the pub smoke-free or not.[…]
        […]He is a climate change sceptic. Nuttall is opposed to the construction of wind farms[14] and believes in order to maintain energy security and reduce fuel poverty, nuclear power is the only long term alternative to traditional carbon forms of fuel.

        Perhaps I have to talk to him about Thorium energy – when I have finished reading up on it!

        I REALLY do not believe Farage is going to give up smoking and having a pint! And, does he still vape in his Brussels office?

        • harleyrider1978 says:

          ya so much for them turning their backs at the opening EU legislature that first day,huh!

          Aint nothing I hate worse than a quitter…………Just when you find a star the Nazis turn him into slithering beggar!

  9. waltc says:

    Just caught up w yesterday’s video and, the way I saw it, the interviewer was not just a sonofabitch but such an almost comically obvious sonofabitch–a parody of bias–that Farage, who let the guy get away with nothing, expressed views that a wide swath of voters would agree with, and kept a fine laid back expression on his face, was the clear (to me) winner.

    But I share Jax’s concern –even from 5000 miles away–because Farage set a model that might, with time, be replicated. Wherever he goes with this, I doubt he’s been bought off. I might, however, suspect he’s been spooked by his personal doctor who told him his pain was either caused or exacerbated by his smoking, (and his wife said “I told you so”) and that, on top of the “common knowledge” that smoking causes…everything, scared him into vaping and meekly conceding that he might quit smoking. Pain can do that. Who knows where it goes from there. William F Buckley smoked and defended smokers till he was diagnosed with emphysema and then became almost a neo-Prohibitionist. Ian Fleming, otoh, told the nannies to go to hell when his doctor gave him warning; then roundly sent the healthists and the anti smokers up (go reread Thunderball) but then, alas, died. As for Farage I’d bet he has too much character and native earthiness to ever turn evangelical ant, but as someone previously said, there’s no alternative to voting UKIP and hoping for the best.

    Btw, have any of you over there thought of point blank asking him? Now would be the time.

    • Rose says:

      I might, however, suspect he’s been spooked by his personal doctor who told him his pain was either caused or exacerbated by his smoking,

      I think that’s the most likely and I will admit that before 2007 , I too have said that I was thinking of giving up smoking just to shut people up.

      Now, I say certainly not, I can’t think of anything more dangerous and have the studies to back me up, before it was just a quick run down of the plant chemistry for those whose opinion I cared about.

  10. harleyrider1978 says:

    It never ends

    Cigar risks ‘equal to cigarettes’

    Times of Malta

    Researchers identified the risks of smoking cigars as their popularity increases. … The health risks of smoking cigars are just as severe as from using …

    http://www.timesofmalta.com/articles/view/20150427/health-fitness/Cigar-risks-equal-to-cigarettes-.565757

  11. harleyrider1978 says:

    Editorial: Smoking hot second-hand climate study

    Rich Thurlow
    Editor

    The right to be left alone is indeed the beginning of all freedom.” Justice William O. Douglas.

    The above is the first line of the Kingman Youth Coalition Beating Up Teen Tobacco pledge, which is recited by all members at the start of every meeting.

    OK, you already know I’m kidding.

    Actually, KYCBUTT members are currently discussing a proposed city ordinance that calls for front doors at the homes of smokers to be marked with a large, black X. Members are soliciting bids for black all-weather paint.

    Still kidding. Or am I?

    There is plenty of information on the Internet about how second-hand smoke is bad. There’s also plenty of information out there about how the EPA study regarding second-hand smoke is so much bull.

    I’ve yet to find any information online about the seismic shift that moved Kingman into California, but the Council’s absurd eagerness to take up the KYCBUTT proposal to outlaw adults smoking in cars when minors are present suggests it’s possible. In the Miner’s news story, did I detect excitement at the prospect Kingman might be the first city in the state to have such an ordinance? Busybodies Up To Terribly Intrusive Nonsense, anyone?

    I was wrong to expect that at least one Council member would praise the KYCBUTT kids for their eagerness to participate in the process. Then the Council member would explain that such a law violated his/her sense of what local government is supposed to be. Better yet, it would violate his/her sense of what government at any level should be.

    Instead, we have BUTT IN Council members eager to impose a $25 fine ($50 for a second offense; at some point I suppose serious prison time will be in store for three-time offenders), plus force smokers to attend tobacco education classes.

    E-cigarettes were included (can’t overlook the dangers of second-hand steam, can we?). It may get pretty expensive finding someone qualified to make up the dangers of e-cigarettes and then teach the class.

    And don’t be lulled by talk that this is a secondary offense. If you’re driving down the road with a cigarette dangling out your window and all the other windows are down, it’s still a fine for a bad lane change. You know, like that left turn onto Stockton Hill Road into the far lane because you need to turn into a parking lot right away.

    The dishonest EPA report about second-hand smoke is a reminder of something equally bogus, the global warming scare. It’s an inconvenient truth that predictions of more hurricanes similar to Katrina in 2005 due to global warming have been followed by a decade of no serious hurricanes. None.

    Ditto with claims snowfall totals would decline precipitously. And where are the 50 million “climate refugees” who were supposed to be fleeing islands by 2010 due to rising oceans?

    Google “global warming predictions that never came true” and read up on it yourself. There’s plenty of information online for and against climate change, but there’s no getting around the ominous predictions that are now nothing but punch lines for a big government joke.

    And big government is coming home to roost in Kingman, where you will not be left alone.

    http://kdminer.com/main.asp?SectionID=36&SubSectionID=73&ArticleID=65715

    Seems somebody was listening to us as we fight the world over……………

    • Re marking the house with “a huge black X”

      Because of the association with the Nazis they’re hesitant to go that far. However, as I laid out in TobakkoNacht, they’ve found ways around the problem: simply have the “good” people given special little blue porch lights so that their houses will be marked as “child safe.”

      Feel free to firebomb the dark ones.

      – MJM

  12. harleyrider1978 says:

    Iro CyZane

    1 hr · Edited
    .

    He’s got it right ! And the same, if not worse, applies to Quebec.

    ”A study by the Canadian Taxpayers Federation showed that 1-in-3 cigarettes purchased in Ontario were illicit, forfeiting about $1.1 billion a year in potential tax revenues that would otherwise go to federal and provincial governments.”

    http://canadafreepress.com/index.php/article/71370

  13. harleyrider1978 says:

    The UK’s Return to Socialism : The Freeman : Foundation for Economic Education

    By abdicating their philosophical role, British business leaders ceded the moral high ground primarily to their enemies.

    http://fee.org/freeman/detail/the-uks-return-to-socialism?utm_source=Foundation+for+Economic+Education+Current+Contacts&utm_campaign=07889111a8-In_Brief_New_Style_4_27_2015&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_77ef1bd48e-07889111a8-14101521

  14. harleyrider1978 says:

    THIS NEEDS SHARING

    MJM

    In answer to I.M. McBee, who offered the current CDC “fact sheet” as proof that my arguments against the smoking bans are wrong.

    IMB, if I take a moment and show you just how self-contradictory stuff like that “fact sheet” is, will you be able to understand how the contradictions void the document? Remember what a “fact sheet” is: it’s an advocacy statement put together to argue a point in a situation such as this: not actually a collection of facts.

    Note the following from your “fact sheet”: “During 1988–1991, almost 90 of every 100 (87.9%) nonsmokers had measurable levels of cotinine. … During 2011–2012, about 25 of every 100 (25.3%) nonsmokers had measurable levels of cotinine.”

    That’s quite a reduction, right? Over 2/3rds of secondary smoke (ETS) exposure has disappeared!

    So, if, in 1991, the 3,000 lung cancer deaths/year from ETS was correct and factual and real, and they were indeed telling you the truth — there would be less than 1,000 deaths/year today. Actually, a straight ratio would predict only 833 deaths/year nowadays.

    So how many does your “fact sheet” say? “Secondhand smoke exposure caused more than 7,300 lung cancer deaths each year during 2005–2009.”

    Odd. Exposure went down drastically, deaths went up drastically. By this reasoning we should set up machines to pump tobacco smoke into everyone’s home in the country until we all got healthy, eh? Do you see the problem with your “fact sheet” yet?

    If you’d like to see more examples of such problems, read the book excerpt at http://TheTruthIsALie.com/ and see what you think. I was able to point out a GLARING problem in just your one page fact sheet from the cream of professional organizations on your side of the argument. You should be able to spot at least ten to twenty huge mistakes in my ten page listing of “facts.” Heck, I’ll even through in my very “amateur” pamphlet, “The Lies Behind The Smoking Ban” at http://bit.ly/SmokingBanLies to make it easy for you: you ought to be able to come back here with FIFTY substantive and significant errors if your side of the argument is correct.

    Can you?

    – MJM
    P.S. I’ll even help you out a bit: My argument above actually has something wrong with it that you might not be aware of: Lung cancer has a time lag factor. It doesn’t go down immediately upon reduction of an exposure. Instead, the usual figure from the CDC types is that if you quit smoking now, your LC risk is cut in half after 15 years. So we wouldn’t *really* expect that current # to be 833. 1500 or even 2000 might be more realistic IF THEY WERE TELLING THE TRUTH. But did it go down like that? Nope: instead it MORE THAN DOUBLED.

    They’re lying to you IMB, and even a little bit of reading and checking original sources and research should tell you that … if you’re willing to look instead of just swallow what you’re given. Now the BIG question you’re probably asking is “WHY would they lie to me?” and the answer is simple: in order to reduce smoking they decided that the most effective social engineering tool would be peer pressure: Convince ignorant nonsmokers that it was THEIR health that was being threatened by smokers and they’d do the job of pushig tax increases and smoking bans through that would reduce the number of smokers. I.E. they saw themselves doing “God’s Work” — lying to us for our own good.

    But they are still lies. And they are still wrong. “The end” does NOT “justify the means.” and you should be ANGRY about being lied to and manipulated.

    Are you?

  15. Rose says:

    Bee / nicotine wars, yet another study.

    So far we have had –

    “Nicotine Reduces Parasite Infection In Bees Up To 81 Percent”

    Dartmouth and the University of Massachusetts-Amherst.

    “Are bees addicted to pesticides? Insects are hooked in the same way humans can’t resist cigarettes, study claims”

    Newcastle University and Trinity College Dublin

    Now an inbetweenie Lib-Dem sort of study.

    Yes, bees use nicotine to rid themselves of parasites but it doesn’t do them any good in the long run because the healthy bees with less parasites have shorter lifespans.

    Bumblebees use nicotine to fight off parasites

    Queen Mary, University of London

    “Researchers from Queen Mary University of London (QMUL) and Royal Holloway, University of London (RHUL), gave bumblebees the option to choose between a sugar solution with nicotine in it and one without. Those bees infected with the Crithidia bombi parasite were more likely to go for the nicotine-laced nectar than those that weren’t infected.

    Infected bumblebees that consumed nicotine delayed the progress of the infection for a few days, showing lower levels of parasites than those that had not. However, it did not increase the life expectancy of those bees, meaning that the direct benefits of nicotine for the bee colony remain to be identified.

    Consuming nicotine also had negative effects, appearing to suppress the appetite of infected bees much like smoking does in humans. Healthy bees that consumed nicotine also showed shorter lifespans than those that did not consume any.

    Bees are not the only species known to use nicotine to fight parasites, with house sparrows using cigarette butts in their nests to ward off mites.

    “Dr David Baracchi from the School of Biological and Chemical Sciences at QMUL, co-author of the research, said:

    “While it’s clear that there is some benefit to nicotine consumption for parasite-infected bees, a key challenge now is to discover exactly how such natural medication limits the impact of the disease on the bees’ society.

    “Given the stresses placed on worldwide bee populations by disease, understanding how the bees themselves fight infection is key.”
    http://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2015-04/qmuo-bun042715.php

  16. harleyrider1978 says:

    According to Liberal Congressman God Says You Can Marry Your Dog If It Makes You Happy – Eagle…

    According to Liberal Congressman God Says You Can Marry Your Dog If It Makes You Happy

    http://eaglerising.com/17756/according-to-liberal-congressman-god-says-you-can-marry-your-dog-if-it-makes-you-happy/

  17. harleyrider1978 says:

    http://www.troymedia.com/2015/04/27/smoking-alleviates-psychiatric-symptoms/

    Smoking alleviates psychiatric symptoms | Troy Media

    Smoking seems to have a positive effect on some of the cognitive symptoms of schizophrenia

  18. smokingscot says:

    I believe Simon Clark’s assessment is rather superficial (actually I believe it’s much worse than that, but that’d involve lots of 4 letter words – and those I reserve for blatant anti’s).

    Nigel Farage is not the force behind their initiative to introduce smoking rooms in pubs.

    Harley gave us the first link way back in August 2014:

    http://www.middlewichguardian.co.uk/news/11404144._/

    and I ran with it in October 2014.

    A certain Mr. Paul Nuttal (MEP UKIP) is active in the Save Our Pubs campaign and it was he who came out publicly.

    And he did so again, not two weeks ago:

    http://www.ukip.org/saving_the_pub_a_ukip_priority

    Mr. Paul Nuttal is the Deputy Leader of UKIP and was born in 1976, making him 39 years old and he’s been a feature in save our pubs for some time. He’s known to be highly responsive and I do not for one nano second believe his views are simply populist. If he’s talking to real publicans then he’ll know darned well that this is one policy that – if dropped – will kill UKIP stone dead.

    And whatever happens in Thanet South next week, Nigel is still an elected MEP, with a mandate that runs until 2019.

    The guy’s burning the candle at both ends and I fully understand it’s a hugely personal thing with him. Yes it’ll be fantastic if he manages to unseat the incumbent in Thanet, but the bigger picture’s more important: he really needs to get more than a token number of UKIP MP’s into Westminster – and that (I believe) is why he’s prepared to give his all.

    If he does manage that (and I’m thinking along the lines of more than you can count on two hands), he knows full well that there will need to be a leader in Brussels as well as a leader in Westminster. And that’ll be good for the party and for attracting new talent into it. Career progression, unlimited potential – lovely ring to it!

  19. Pingback: Goodbye Nightmare Scenario | Frank Davis

No need to log in

