Days of Panic & Hysteria

I suppose that I must have grown up in a time of careless complacency. My parents’ generation never seemed to worry about anything. They lived their lives wreathed in tobacco smoke. They knocked back gin and tonic. And they ate butter and sugar.

Now everybody’s scared of everything. They’re terrified of tobacco smoke. In fact they’re scared of every other kind of smoke too. And they’re worried about the carbon dioxide in the smoke. And sugar. And butter. The list is endless.

And the scaremongering only ever gets worse:

Climate change will probably trigger more human conflict, according to an article in the journal Science.

An examination of 60 separate studies, including one stretching back to 10,000 B.C., found that individuals, groups and nations are “substantially” more likely to become involved in physical conflict in hot weather and heavy rain.

Climate change is expected to drive up temperatures in many regions, which will “systematically increase the risk of many types of conflict” ranging from barroom brawls and rape to civil wars and international disputes, according to the article.

I came across an entirely new scare today: most of us have only got another month to live.

Russia – Edward Snowden, hacker-fugitive and former National Security Agency (NSA) contractor, revealed Tuesday that a series of solar flares is set to occur in September, killing hundreds of millions of people. Documents provided by Snowden prove that, as of 14 years ago, Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) remote viewers knew that the event was inevitable. Ever since, the world’s governments have quietly been trying to prepare for the sweeping global famine to result.

And as if to confirm that the solar flares have already started, the Daily Mail reported:

An electromagnetic pulse that could have knocked electrical equipment over continent-scale regions barely missed Earth two weeks ago, it has been revealed.

Electromagnetic pulses, also known as EMPs, are massive surges of energy that can come from a severe solar flare or from a high altitude nuclear explosion.

‘The world escaped an EMP catastrophe,’ Henry Cooper, who now heads High Frontier, a group pushing for missile defence, told Washington Secrets.

And there even are YouTube videos about the ‘killshot’ predicted by ‘remote viewers’ to be coming in September.

Except that it’s all hysterical baloney. The Edward Snowden story is a hoax. And there wasn’t a solar storm two weeks ago.

Many readers are asking about a report in the Washington Examiner, which states that a Carrington-class solar storm narrowly missed Earth two weeks ago. There was no Carrington-class solar storm two weeks ago. On the contrary, solar activity was low throughout the month of July.

And the ‘remote viewers’, if they exist at all, are probably just a bunch of guys who report what they dreamt when they got high on peyote or something. Either that, or they just sit around watching TV, flipping channels with their remotes.

And Der Spiegel (and even the BBC) have harsh criticism for the global-warming-causes-violence story:

Hsiang et al Humiliated…Top Experts Deem Paper Claiming That Warming Leads To Conflict Flawed And Exaggerated

Depleted of scare stories, the global warming scare industry is desperate and has resorted to the latest scare tactic, claiming that warming leads to violent conflict.

When will it end?

I never thought it at the time, but I’m beginning to think that my father was a hero, and should have had a row of medals pinned to his chest. Because he smoked 60 cigarettes a day, and drank gin and tonic, and ate copious amounts of meat and fat and butter and salted crisps and peanuts. And he drove his car without a seat belt. And he went swimming in shark-infested waters. And he went sailing in storms.

What serene courage! What quiet heroism!

And yet he somehow made it all seem perfectly ordinary and everyday and unremarkable, as if no heroism at all was needed to push another anchovy-stuffed olive into his mouth as he sat smoking at the bar of his local yacht club after nursing his little dinghy back through the storm-tossed waves of Guanabara bay.

But how many people could do any of those things today, without being reduced to bleating lumps of quivering jelly? Hardly any, I’d imagine.

About Frank Davis

smoker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Days of Panic & Hysteria

  1. harleyrider1978 says:

    If I remember right

    We have EMP bombs and all military vehicles have been shielded against an emp burst so they ignition system still runs. An area affected by an emp blast can last for days and weeks afterwards. EMP’s alter the electrical fields and yields ignition systems useless until the polarization reverts back to normal status.

    • Marvin says:

      “EMP’s alter the electrical fields and yields ignition systems useless until the polarization reverts back to normal status”
      ———–
      Not quite true, an EMP knocks the free electrons out of the copper connecting wire, rendering the copper high resistance, this is why ignition systems using copper wire fail. Over time the now positively charged copper will attract negatively charged electrons from the enviroment and the circuit will start to work again.

      This reminds me of the time back in the 70’s when the Americans captured a Russian spy plane and after examining it found it used valve (vacuum tube) technology.
      While they were rolling about, laughing their socks off at the “low-tech”, some bright spark realised that valve technology is much more immune to EMP damage than solid state. This is because a valve is quite large and an EMP pulse will only induce a hiccup in the valve, whereas an integrated circuit is tiny and an EMP pulse will knock out the ENTIRE circuit. This led to a frantic program to “radiation-harden” all their military spec integrated circuits (IC’s).

  2. harleyrider1978 says:

    Types of military EMP include:

    Nuclear electromagnetic pulse (NEMP), as a result of a nuclear explosion. A variant of this is the high altitude nuclear EMP (HEMP), which produces a pulse of a much larger amplitude and different characteristics due to interactions with the Earth’s magnetic field.
    Non-nuclear electromagnetic pulse (NNEMP) weapons.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electromagnetic_pulse

  3. harleyrider1978 says:

    Frank he is a hero your Dad! He survived life!
    Ive been thru more hell and fast living than Id care to even discuss. From Bronc riding in my youth with no body armour lol like they require today. To freeking broken collar bones playing EVIL KNIEVEL on my dirt bikes………Surviving tick born diseases and still suffering from to being able to clear a womans bedroom as her husband came thru the front door………Ya she said Im single………. To drinking pitchor of beer laced with 6 ashtrays of butts and ASH’S…….To fire walking to working near nuclear warheads and reactors on submarines……..Yet I still lived!

    • Junican says:

      But for how long, Cousin? Don’t forget that a whiff of cig smoke in the street is FAR MORE DANGEROUS than all the events you named…..

  4. wobbler2012 says:

    The Climate Change Cult are getting so desperate these days that the shock stories are getting more and more utterly insane, I would be amazed if there is any sane person out there that cannot see it for the utter bullshit that it is.

  5. jaxthefirst says:

    Not quite on-topic, but for some reason this item reminded me of a programme I was listening to on the radio last week. It was about the “worrying” rise in drink-drive fatalities over the last 12 months. The increase was negligible in the overall scale of things, but the reason that the increase was notable was that it bucked the trend of steadily decreasing drink-driving fatalities over the last few decades. There was the inevitable “expert” guest on (representing a vested-interest anti-drink driving lobby group, of course, so no conflict of interest there, then) who said that he thought that although drink-driving fatalities had been steadily falling for the last 50 years, this small increase could be an indication that the effect of “the message” was plateauing out and that (naturally) because of that, perhaps politicians should now begin thinking about more restrictive legislation such as (predictably) the much-vaunted zero-level drink-driving limit.

    But the bit that struck me most was when he said: “I, like many listeners, I suspect, can remember as far back as the 1960s and 70s when the roads on Friday and Saturday nights after closing time were sheer carnage.” Well, I am one of those listeners who remembers back to that time; indeed it was during the 1970s particularly when I was at my own most active regular-boozing time in my life. And back then we all drank and then drove home again, because that was back in the day when random breath testing wasn’t permitted and you pretty much only got stopped if there was something wrong with your car (like a rear light out), or you actually had an accident. And I certainly don’t remember the roads being anything like “carnage” by a very, very long streak. To listen to this man, you’d think that anyone who was alive through the 1960s or 70s would know at least one person who’d been killed, injured or written off their car when plastered (or inflicted those things on someone else), in a drink-driving related accident. But, casting my mind back, how many do I actually know? Or even know of? Zero. None. Absolutely no-one. Everyone I knew from back in those days is still alive and kicking or, if not, has fallen ill or died from illnesses/incidents totally unrelated to drink-driving. Don’t get me wrong – I’m not saying for a second that these things didn’t occur (and still do), but the point I’m trying to make is that if it was that big a cause of road fatalities (as the word “carnage” would imply), then surely I would know, or know of, at least one person who was a victim. But I don’t. So how big was the problem, in truth?

    It seems that exaggeration and re-presenting things how you want people to think that they were (like pubs thick with a totally impenetrable fug of tobacco smoke, “carnage” on the roads, and the crime-free streets of the 1950s – yeah, right), rather than rather than the way they actually were is no longer the sole preserve of anti-smokers. The anti-booze (and, it this case, also the anti-driver) fraternity are getting in on the act now, too.

    I don’t know why this article made me remember this programme. Maybe because it shows that when someone has a particular axe to grind or a “cause” to champion, they are as much inclined to mis-remember the past as they are to over-exaggerate (or simply fabricate) dire predictions about the future.

    • Frank Davis says:

      I don’t remember any ‘carnage’ either. And I don’t know anyone who was killed or even injured in a car crash.

      I came off a motorbike once, and cracked an elbow. But that was when London’s streets became extremely treacherous after a summer shower. I hadn’t had anything to drink at all. In large part I came off because I was angry (at being sent on an unnecessary journey), and threw the bike around a bit. If anything, if I’d had a calming drink before I climbed on it, I might have been more relaxed and careful, and not had the accident.

      And I’ve been accustomed to driving while ‘under the influence’ (i.e. more than one pint). Everybody did (including my father). They also drove cars when they were stoned (although not my father).

      I used to think that drink-driving laws were quite reasonable pieces of legislation. But now I think that there was probably no real basis for them. The truth is that people can drive cars perfectly well after a few drinks, or even a few joints, or both.

      I’m not sure we need seat belts either.

      These days I think that these sorts of laws (along with the forest of expensive road signs that have appeared on roads) are all about controlling people, first in small ways, and then in larger and larger ways, using any old lie that is convenient.

      And it always is a lie, every single time.

      • harleyrider1978 says:

        It all started with the seatbelt law for infants in tennessee back in 1983! I still dont wear a damned seatbelt.

        • harleyrider1978 says:

          Today the law is anyone 4 feet 9 inches or shorter must be in a child restraint seat!
          Absurd doesnt even begin to qualify………..

        • wobbler2012 says:

          To be honest wearing a seatbelt is actually quite a good law, I would much rather have my seatbelt on in a crash than not have it on. I think it’s a good law, most laws are BS, but this one is actually a sensible one.

        • beobrigitte says:

          I would much rather have my seatbelt on in a crash than not have it on.

          I’d rather not. My survival chances have further been limited by the air bag. It will break my neck in an accident I could easily survive. And I am strapped in to not avoid this air bag.

          Small people are “collateral damage” of these SAFETY LAWS.

      • beobrigitte says:

        “I, like many listeners, I suspect, can remember as far back as the 1960s and 70s when the roads on Friday and Saturday nights after closing time were sheer carnage.”

        I do remember the roads on Friday and Saturday night in the 1970s.
        Sheer carnage???? THAT is news to me.

        And I don’t know anyone who was killed or even injured in a car crash.

        I do. To this day I miss my little brother. (His funeral was the worst day of my life; I have little memory of it). He died – instantly – on SUNDAY, 11.9.1077, at MIDDAY, (12:15 hrs) aged 17, on the road leading to our house as a result of A ROAD TRAFFIC ACCIDENT.

        My mother (my father died 5 years previous to my brother’s accident) declined the option pressing charges; the driver of the car was a family man himself. My mother just said: “It wouldn’t bring him back – accidents do happen”. We, the siblings agreed.
        My mother never recovered from her loss but she got on with life as good as she could.

    • nisakiman says:

      I seem to remember, Jax, that I was stopped a few of times in the late 60s after having had a real skinful at a country pub, not because I was driving erratically (err, I don’t think…), but because in those days I drove old bangers that were barely fit for the road, and there was always something not working on them. I was asked to walk along the edge of the kerb, and if I didn’t fall off then I’d be told to take great care driving home and to get that light / indicator / stop light whatever fixed PDQ. The one time I did fall off the kerb, they made me park the car, gave me a lift home and told me I could pick up the keys the following morning from the local police station.

      How things have changed.

      And no, I don’t remember any ‘carnage’, either. Mind you, there were no motorways then, very little traffic, and not many cars were capable of much more than 60 mph (particularly my old ex-GPO Morris 1000 van! A snip at twenty quid!), so conditions have changed somewhat in the intervening years.

  6. harleyrider1978 says:

    Fourth Staffordshire Tory councillor defects to Nigel Farage’s UKIP party
    http://www.expressandstar.com
    A fourth Tory councillor from Staffordshire has defected to UKIP after becoming disillusioned with the party.
    http://www.expressandstar.com/news/politics/2013/08/01/fourth-staffordshire-tory-councillor-defects-to-nigel-farages-ukip-party/

  7. waltc says:

    @ jax
    If people had any real memory of the past they’d remember that about 60% of everybody smoked , smoked almost everywhere, and almost everyone got some SHS and didn’t get asthma (I knew no one who had it when I was a kid, and only one guy in ciollege) and didn’t get lung cancer and didn’t die or sicken from it, and didn’t hate the smell, and didn’t know, care (or smell) if their next door neighbor smoked. Yet they forget all this and deny their own experience and actual knowledge in favor of hysteria. I begin to wonder if they’re just being cannily pointed towards something on which to pin their existential dread and are so grateful that the thing has a Name (secondhand smoke–as opposed to Death Itself, or Meaninglessness, or Futility, of Unpredictable Fate) that they;re more than willing to sacrifice rationality,

  8. Ben_P says:

    I’m not scared of global warming. We’re currently in a ‘warm’ period between ice ages. The previous warm period in the earth’s history lasted about 10,000 years. We’re about 10,000 years into the current warm period. If anything, I expect global warming to push the earth back into another ice age, sooner rather than later. When the earth does fall into another ice age, I want humans to have as many coal fired power plants as possible. Human society and industry might just survive if we have plenty of power.

    • nisakiman says:

      When the earth does fall into another ice age, I want humans to have as many coal fired power plants as possible. Human society and industry might just survive if we have plenty of power.

      And we’re going to need plenty of carbon dioxide and water vapour in the air to provide us with a ‘blanket’ to trap the warmer air around the planet.

  9. harleyrider1978 says:

    mrdeltoid

    10:00 AM on August 4, 2013

    lol — let’s see this study. Oh wait, there isn’t one!

    This article references a busybody fool who took it upon himself to measure airborne particles, probably within two feet of someone smoking, with an instrument that almost certainly doesn’t distinguish between tobacco versus exhaust and other particulate matter. Outdoor tobacco smoke is so diffuse as to be a meaningless risk, even for waiters. It likely poses less of a risk than inhaling car exhaust on a daily basis within a dense, urban environment (Toronto).

    Here’s Ryan’s page: http://www.arts.uwaterloo.ca/~gfong/ryankennedy.htm

    Here’s another one of his “contributions”: http://www.nytimes.com/2007/11/22/nyregion/22cigar.html?_r=0

    Does this person strike anyone as being dispassionate and analytical with respect to the second-hand risks of tobacco? He’s an anti-tobacco fanatic.
    2 replies
    You voted
    Report Abuse

    Score: 0
    WayneC1

    11:38 AM on August 4, 2013

    I am not a fanatic, I just don;’t like the smell. As for exhaust fumes they are on the decrease and unless you ride a horse you will have to agree that while its a problem it comes with benefits. There is NO benefit to tobacco at all. Except perhaps keeping a lot of cancer workers employed.
    Report Abuse

    Score: 0
    harleyrider1778

    11:49 AM on August 4, 2013

    So Wayne are you saying your the author of this JUNK STUDY! If so you left out the main ingredient to a truthful science study…….DOSE MAKES THE POISON! You have no controls and you have no background to even do a study and then watch the mass media of canada trot it out like gospel! Black Magic and Mythology best decscribes any claims made by anti-tobacco advocates as there is no proof of any claim made about SHS/ETS much less direct smoking. You see sir the SHS myth brought much doubt to the rest of us ans we searched everywhere for proof of actual disease causation to direct smoking and NONE EXISTS ANYWHERE

    • harleyrider1978 says:

      http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/national/study-likens-patio-smoke-to-a-forest-fire-as-advocates-push-for-ban/article13588299/comments/

      Big fights going on all over Canadas media run with this story!!!!

      Well somebody wrote this I forget who but its great!!!!……………….As others have noted, there is no information concerning the “study”, just absurd, hysterical claims. Further, Ryan Kennedy, posing here as an “air quality scientist”, is a PhD graduate in Health Psychology at the University of Waterloo, whose interests include “applied/social psychology, social marketing, environmental tobacco smoke policies”. Do a google search of “Ryan Kennedy” and there’ll be a number of returns indicating that he is an antismoking activist who’s been spouting this trash for a number of years. In other words, Kennedy, like many other antismoking activists, is a propagandist/liar for the “cause”. It’s pitiful that this inflammatory drivel was published by a news outlet.”

      • harleyrider1978 says:

        Its like it was the last ditch battle for tobacco control……………………All of them are out in it.

  10. cherie79 says:

    I remember in the 60s we never gave a second though to drinking and driving and I also don’t know anyone killed or injured in a drink/drive accident. Don’t know about anyone else but I intend carrying on doing all the things I always have, don’t see the point of living otherwise. Hope my 3 year lung cancer scan is ok, it does annoy the Drs. since I refused to stop smoking and, so far, am still fine. I didn’t see the point of stopping after 50 years. I will let you all know after the 6th. September when I get the results.

  11. beobrigitte says:

    An examination of 60 separate studies, including one stretching back to 10,000 B.C., found that individuals, groups and nations are “substantially” more likely to become involved in physical conflict in hot weather and heavy rain.

    It is the case that, when you pull the flush on your toilet and the telephone rings, it is the toilet flush that causes the telephone to ring………..

    60 separate wastes of cash. Very disgruntled individuals</b. are VERY likely to become involved in physical conflict.

    • jaxthefirst says:

      “ … including one stretching back to 10,000 B.C. …”

      Are they taking the p*ss here or what? How on earth did they know how much it was raining 10,000 years ago?? I guess they might (just) be able to establish whether there was a “warm” or a “cool” period (from fossil tree rings or something?), but how on earth can they know – other than within 1000 years or so, whether the atmosphere was particularly hot or particularly cold or just “a bit hot” or “a bit cool?” And how on earth, also, could they possibly know how much conflict there was or wasn’t back then and exactly when it happened? Utterly farcical.

  12. beobrigitte says:

    sorry… didn’t close the bracket…

  13. legiron says:

    The CIA did study the potential of remote viewers and all kinds of other paranormal stuff. There’s a book about some of it called ‘The Men Who Stare At Goats’.

    They dropped the programme years ago because it didn’t work.

    Besides, remote viewers (if any exist) don’t see the future. Even the spooky side of the Snowden story is bunk.

  14. Pingback: Mixed bag. | underdogs bite upwards

  15. Pingback: Read: The Edward Snowden ” Solar Fare Killshot” Hoax | 3rdeyeviZion

No need to log in

