Out of Action

I’m coming down with a cold. I’ve got all the symptoms slowly developing. And my head is spinning, and I can’t concentrate. No point trying to write anything.

So I’m probably going to be out of action for the next few days, unless I make a swift recovery.

About Frank Davis

smoker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Out of Action

  1. Sleep. And chicken soup. Sleep’s the biggie so your body can fight, and enough food so it can fight effectively. AND… if you’ve been keeping the heat down, turn it up so you’re not burning energy keeping warm!

    Feel better guy!

    :)
    MJM

  2. Frank Davis says:

    And chicken soup.

    I’ve got plenty of chicken soup. It’s my reserve currency.

    turn it up

    I’ve done that too. I run my flat like an icebox most times, but the heating’s on tonight.

  3. waltc says:

    And if you’ve got a fever, don’t bring it down with aspirin. Pile on the covers and sweat it out. No kidding. The body heat kills the bugs. Not an old wives’ tale. My father was a doctor so it’s an old doctor’s tale. Get well soon.

    attn smokervoter.
    CA assembly bill would ban smoking in all “multi-unit” apt bldgs STATEWIDE. Having an old computer as you do, I get a freeze and/or crash when I try to get anything on the Huff Post but here’s the link for those who can:
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/03/01/california-smoking-ban_n_2792719.html

    Meanwhile, the article (sent to me in the clear by a buddy), after a laudatory quote on the idea from Herr Doktor Proctor (now of Stanford Univ) saying that smoking in general will soon be a “distant memory,” we get this closing paragraph:

    “A review of a number of academic studies on smoking laws by the Center for Disease Control found that not only do restrictions on where people are allowed to smoke increase the number of people who quit smoking, but, by “challenging the perception of smoking as a normal adult behavior,” these laws can affect cultural norms surrounding smoking and reducing the number of young people who pick up the habit.”

    I’ve seen these frank admissions a lot lately so they’re now pretty much consistently out of the closet about the SHS excuse,

  4. WaltC is right about the bug-killing fever, BUT… if you actually have flu or something and your fever starts heading over 103, it’s time to get the aspirin for safety. Over 104 and it’s a good idea to have friend around just in case you’re seizure-prone etc — plus your judgement probably starts to take a dive. Over 105 and hopefully you’re already at a hospital. Over 106, and you might end up with a brain like Deb Arnott’s. Over 107, well, it was nice knowin’ ya. It’s scary how sensitive we seem to be over just a few degrees of body temperature difference. And I think it can be even more sensitive than the figures I just outlined there, ‘specially if you’re older or have any other conditions that might make you more vulnerable.

    BUT… hopefully ya just have a cold ‘n you’ll be back in fighting form by Wednesday!

    :>
    MJM, not a doc, and doesn’t even play one on the telly.

    • harleyrider1978 says:

      Actually theres been a few that survived 106 degree fevers. Lyme spirochetes die at 105 degrees in the body……..problem is the fever kills the host normally!

  5. Rose says:

    Colds are very tiresome, Frank, I hope you get better soon.

  6. George Spellet says:

    6 gm vitamin C

    • smokingscot says:

      You’ve got to have the constitution of an ox George.

      Agree with vitamin C, the effervescent jobs I bung into a 250 cc glass of water, but six’ll give the guy the squits something awful, especially if he’s not used to them.

      Otherwise George gives excellent advice. Chemists charge a mint for the tubes of 20, however you can get them for less than £2 in Waitrose or Superdrug or such.

      Three per day and it has the advantage of helping to fight off dehydration.

    • Margo says:

      Hear hear. I was going to suggest, Frank, lots of Vit C.
      Have a good rest
      xx

  7. beobrigitte says:

    Get well soon!!

    Go back to bed, sweat and sleep it off!! (should you experience huge fever spikes it might be a good idea to call a local GP)

  8. c777 says:

    “There is a chance that the comet C/2013 A1 (Siding Spring),
    discovered in the beginning of 2013,
    might collide with Mars. At the moment,
    based on the observation arc of 74 days,
    the nominal close approach distance between
    the red planet and the comet might be as little as 0.00073 AU,
    that is approximately 109,200 km! Distance to Mars’
    natural satellite Deimos will be smaller by 6000 km,
    making it 103,000 km. On the 19th October 2014,
    the comet might reach apparent magnitude of -8 to -8.5,
    as seen from Mars!
    Perhaps it will be possible to accuire high-resolution images from the Mars
    Reconnaissance Orbiter (MRO).

    Since C/2013 A1 is a hyperbolic comet and moves in a retrograde orbit,
    its velocity with respect to the planet will be very high, approximately 56 km/s.
    With the current estimate of the absolute magnitude of the nucleus M2 = 10.3,
    which might indicate a diameter up to 50 km,
    the energy of impact might reach the equivalent of staggering 2×10¹º megatonnes!
    This kind of event can leave a crater 500 km across and 2 km deep.
    Such an event would overshadow even the famous bombardment of Jupiter
    by the disintegrated comet Shoemaker–Levy 9 in July 1994,
    which by some estimates was originally 15 km in diameter.”

    http://www.nightskyhunter.com/Sky%20Events%20Now.html

    http://astroblogger.blogspot.co.uk/2013/02/will-comet-c2013-a1-siding-spring-hit.html

    Another Comet enters the solar system from the ORT cloud.
    Hmmmmm.

    ps

    Whisky and honey.

  9. Frank Davis says:

    I’m not feeling too bad. I’m up and about. And my head actually seems a bit clearer than yesterday. I’ve just got a bit of a runny nose.

    • I knew it. You and Leg Iron are the SAME PERSON. He’s also put a very short 3-4 line post up today. All this stuff about decals is just a front. He’s got a cold. Your cold.

      Glad you’re feeling a bit better. My father’s solution to colds was this: hang your hat on the end of your bed. Prepare a large glass containing honey dissolved in a little hot water, fresh lemon juice, and whisky. Go to bed and drink until you can see two hats.

      • GDF1 says:

        One of my favorite childhood memories is of my grandfather fixing me a small glass of honey, whiskey and lemon whenever I had a cold. “Sip it slowly” he would say. But it was so delicious that I always wanted to drink it right up. Then I would fall off to sleep on the couch, snuggly warm under some nice, soft blankets – enjoying the delicious fragrance of my grandfather’s pipe smoke.

        When my sister and I were older, we always purchased pipe tobacco for our grandfather for Birthdays and Christmas. I also have lovely memories of going to the tobacco store and sniffing dozens of varieties – trying to find just the right one.

        Just another reason why I hate anti-tobacco zealots.

  10. Junican says:

    So you’ve got a bit of a cold, Frank…. Don’t be so soft!

    • Frank Davis says:

      Perhaps I am But it didn’t seem like that last night when my head was spinning and my nose was streaming.

      But, in my defence, I didn’t take any tablets for it. The only thing I did was to recommission my long-unused e-cig, on the grounds that I’d probably have to cut back on tobacco consumption.

    • Frank Davis says:

      Anyway, I’m a southern English softie. Not a bit like the hard men of Bolton.

  11. nisakiman says:

    Yup, as already prescribed, whisky, honey, lemon and hot water. Heavy on the whisky. Tried and tested.

    Interesting to note that even when you post a (barely) four line snippet, you still get all the usual suspects posting comments! It’s a bit like a pub pre-ban here, where we drop in for a chat and a smoke and to put the world to rights, just like we used to when we were allowed in pubs. :)

    • Frank Davis says:

      It’s a bit like a pub pre-ban here

      It’s nice when people chat among themselves.

      But as I’m this particular pub’s ‘landlord’, I have to make sure that something gets published most days. Even if it’s just a few lines.

      • beobrigitte says:

        It’s a bit like a pub pre-ban here
        That’s why we keep coming back! Pre-ban pubs kept people much contenter than they are now. There was a kind of balance; “work hard – play hard”. Now it is only “work hard- take happy pills”. People past time and relaxation has been replaced with health fears.

  12. harleyrider1978 says:

    British medical establishment lighting up smokers again
    The misrepresentation of the truth by the DH and the medical establishment is truly galling. When you cannot trust your doctor who else is there to turn to for expertise?

    How the medical establishment is misleading us on the harm of second hand smoke. http://www.thecommentator.com/article/2851/british_medical_establishment_lighting_up_smokers_again

  13. harleyrider1978 says:

    Boy I got into today while getting my new u-bolts made down in Nashville! It seems the man working the service desk was a member of a tennessee anti-smoking group! I ripped him a new one. The man sniffs the air with his nose and goes you smell like smoke!!!!

    20 minutes later this guys office buddys were looking at him like a FOOL! I gather he has been telling them all the normal TC lies and I ripped all his claims to shreds! Poor Poor FOOL! Some idiots never expect to find that one pearl that can decimate their entire line of BULLSHIT! He met his Waterloo today…………….

    • nisakiman says:

      I saw this earlier this evening harley, and I thought of you. :)

      http://cdn.acidcow.com/pics/20130304/acid_picdump_37.jpg

      • harleyrider1978 says:

        Nsakiman your link is right on target, This libtard was believe it or not a gun rights nut too! It like blew me away when I heard him say that. I backed up and said ya I pack too,and opened my jacket back to sport my 44 colt peacemaker in fast draw Cross Draw holster……..
        A big point here is a point I was making a few days ago and thats how progressive liberalism crosses lines and basically screws its own self in the behind. Like the man above as a case in point. All these anti-fil in blank cross all lines of political persuassion.
        Its a key point that this liberal doesnt even understand that gun rights people are pretty much against smoking bans based upon individual rights and property rights issues. He likely votes for tea party/conservatives based upon the gun issue. In effect he is aiding our side on that issue and possibly a few others. His hatred of smoking on one hand is countered by his gun rights beliefs. I shoulda angled more on that issue but didnt.He was already pretty well defeated I guess maybe thats why he brought that up last of all. Save a lil face in the office!

        • beobrigitte says:

          Correct me if I’m wrong – whilst people in England live close to each other and NEVER encounter (except foxes that have adapted) wild, potentially dangerous animals, I believe it is different in America.
          Nevertheless, only a few days ago a SWISS nut went on a shooting spree. Despite generations of people having inherited their father’s guns, this was the first time something like this happened.
          Now everyone appears to be screaming for a “gun law”.
          It does not make sense.
          Also, Isn’t Alaska part of America? What about wild animals there?

          Nevertheless, in “gun-free” England youngsters shoot each other. In gun-free Germany a nut went lose in a School and SHOT.
          So much for gun laws.
          As I always have stressed; I do not wish to own a gun. There is hardly a need for it in this country. This might change when the anti-smokers invade my comfort zone even more and I feel that my PRIVATE property (house/car) is up for sale to them.

    • beobrigitte says:

      The man sniffs the air with his nose and goes you smell like smoke!!!!

      This does remind me of a person being catapulted into a top managerial position where I work. I was counting the days until I was hauled into the office (I am a little outspoken) which happened about 631 days earlier than anticipated. I honestly cannot remember what I was told; it did sound like “blah-blah-blah-blah”. But I did hear this sarcastic: “Well, you can go now and smoke”.
      So I said; “Ah, great idea!!! And, yes, bloody well right, I will!!!”
      "Have you got something else to say"?
      “Erm, what about?”
      “What I have just told you!!!!”
      (Boss’ annoyed voice not to overhear)
      “You just told me that I could go for a smoke….”

      This boss NEVER hauled me into the office again!!!

      The anti-smokers hate it when you use their logic!

  14. timbone says:

    Frank, the main thing is, do not die…well, certainly not before I do. Frank, I cannot imagine life without your blog. It is a daily fix, almost as good as nicotine. Not forgetting that now you have your state pension, they may have robbed us of freedom and choice in many areas, but at least we can still get something out of the bastards. Frank, live long and prosper.

  15. harleyrider1978 says:

    As Mark Twain wrote:

    “I don’t want any of your statistics; I took your whole batch and lit my pipe with it.

    You are blind to the fact that most old men in America smoke and drink coffee, although, according to your theory, they ought to have died young; and that hearty old ENGLISHMEN drink wine and survive it, and portly old Dutchmen both drink and smoke freely, and yet grow older and fatter all the time. And you never try to find out how much solid comfort, relaxation, and enjoyment a man derives from smoking in the course of a lifetime (which is worth ten times the money he would save by letting it alone), nor the appalling aggregate of happiness lost in a lifetime by your kind of people from not smoking. Of course you can save money by denying yourself all those little vicious enjoyments for fifty years; but then what can you do with it? What use can you put it to? Money can’t save your infinitesimal soul. All the use that money can be put to is to purchase comfort and enjoyment in this life; therefore, as you are an enemy to comfort and enjoyment where is the use of accumulating cash?

    • harleyrider1978 says:

      Perhaps a counter study to the Nazis life costs would be a study about how much value in enjoyment of life is worth from smoking and its cultural place in society! Our friendships and smoking aquaintances thru out life anywhere and everywhere we gathered.

  16. harleyrider1978 says:

    Cousin Junican from over on this story where you posting about SIDS

    Study: Babies’ low serotonin levels cause SIDS – USATODAY.comwww.usatoday.com/news/health/2010-02-03-sids03_st_N.htmCached – Similar
    You +1’d this publicly. Undo
    Feb 2, 2010 – Sudden infant death syndrome researchers say low serotonin may be what prevents infants from waking up when they inhale too much carbon …

    http://www.usatoday.com/news/health/2010-02-03-sids03_st_N.htm

    Researchers may have solved the mystery of what makes some babies vulnerable to sudden infant death syndrome, or SIDS, which kills more than 2,300 babies a year.
    Infants who died of SIDS had low levels of serotonin, a brain chemical that helps the brainstem regulate breathing, temperature, sleeping, waking and other automatic functions, according to an autopsy study in today’s Journal of the American Medical Association.

    Serotonin normally helps babies respond to high carbon-dioxide levels during sleep by helping them wake up and shift their head position to get fresh air, says senior author Hannah Kinney of Harvard Medical School and Children’s Hospital Boston.

  17. GDF1 says:

    Some research has suggested that people who smoke have (genetically) low levels of serotonin. If so, it would seem likely that we would be more likely to have babies who are also prone to low levels of serotonin. This would explain any correlation between smoking parents and SIDS. Not smoking around infants wouldn’t do anything to change their genetic predisposition to low serotonin levels.

    However, since nicotine upregulates (at least temporarily) serotonin levels — it would seem that one precaution parents who smoke might take, would be to smoke around their infants.

    My golly! Did I just dare to suggest that?

  18. ira to gold says:

    If some one wants to be updated with most recent technologies then he must be pay a quick visit this web page and be up to date every
    day.

No need to log in

