Delightful Response

I had a really delightful response to my suggestion last night that we might chip in to get Rose a replacement computer. There was one offer from mactheknife (a long time reader of mine, and none too well, I believe) to send her a brand new one. And also an offer from Brigitte to send her an old one whose battery doesn’t work. And several offers to chip in to buy her one. Plus assorted helpful hints and tips.

It’s really heart-warming to know that there are so many kind people around. Particularly these days when the world seems to have been completely overrun by vicious, punitive, antismoking zealots. I think we can feel fairly sure that we’ll get her a computer if she needs one.

Thank you!

But I had an email from Rose this morning saying that her sister had an “ancient computer” in her garage that she’d been intending to throw out, which her daughter reckons can be got working, and get her back online. But her daughter has gone to Arizona, and Rose is going to Cornwall, and she says she won’t be online for a month anyway (not sure why, if her current computer isn’t dead yet). But she’s got my mobile phone number if all else fails.

I don’t know whether she’s seen yesterday’s post and the response to it. She didn’t mention it in her email, so maybe she hasn’t.

Anyway, I suggest that we leave it to Rose to contact me if she’s really stuck. I won’t be too surprised to find she is, if the garage computer really is very ancient. The really old ones (and I’ve got one in a box somewhere) didn’t even have modems. I’ve no idea whether she’s on broadband. I’ll probably send her an email to say that offers of help have been flooding in, and all she has to do is say ‘Yes, please’, and something will be on the way.

That’s all for today. I’ve been doing mathematics all day, and my head is full of numbers and equations. I’ll probably write about it at the weekend, when I’m hoping to unveil some pretty new computer models of cells that I’ve been working on for the past couple of weeks.

About Frank Davis

smoker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Delightful Response

  1. Junican says:

    I have a perfectly good laptop which is surplus. The reason that I do not use it is only because the ‘adapter’ (the connection lead to the power supply) is damaged. The gummage is easy to replace.

    Because I have another laptop, I have not bothered about it. But there is a fault (which is not uncommon) in that there is a thin yellow line down the screen. Other than that, the machine works fine Rose can have it if she wants it. The worst that can happen is that nothing happens!

    If necessary, I’ll send that laptop to Rose at my expense. The Junican/Rose towelling method would not exist if it were not for Rose.

  2. Zarashand says:

    Another small point – I find that the recommended minimum specifications for a computer to be able to access the internet/play DVDs/watch youtube,etc. are often ridiculously exaggerated. Up until recently, I was happily using a six year – old desktop PC to read my favourite blogs (including this one), and even to play fairly recently released games, albeit at low resolutions (not that I think that Rose is an ardent games player; it’s just that I’ve had computers that I’d describe as complete toasters by modern standards that still performed adequately enough for my needs).

    That’s a nice offer from Junican. If Rose can get access, say, to the internet at a library though, then I’d recommend against ordering a really cheap Chinese adapter for the laptop from ebay..
    I made that mistake once. It lasted about five days before spontaneously combusting.

    Still, I suppose I could have lit my cigarette off it if I’d run out of matches…

  3. harleyrider1978 says:

    Maybe its time smokers went armed and shot these health gestapo agents!
    516 cigarette smokers compounded during Ops Balik Kampung

    PUTRAJAYA: A total of 516 cigarette smokers were compounded for smoking in public transport or at public transport terminals during an operation, codenamed Ops Balik Kampung by health authorities between last Aug 26 and 30.

    Health director-general Datuk Seri Dr Hasan Abdul Rahman said checks were conducted on 1,641 public transport vehicles and at 335 terminals during the period.

    He said a minimum compound of RM250 was imposed on the offenders.

    The operation was conducted to protect public transport passengers from the dangers of second-hand smoke, besides instilling awareness among smokers on the dangers of smoking, he said in a statement issued here today.

    Dr Hasan said six compounds were also issued against public transport owners for failing to display the “No Smoking” sign in their vehicles, or the sign did not meet the stipulated specification.

    For those who want to quit the smoking habit, they could seek help at the government clinics or hospitals or contact infoline at 03-8883 4400 for information. – Bernama

    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/9/13/nation/20120913182631&sec=nation

    • nisakiman says:

      Malaysia is a wannabe Singapore. Another country to be avoided in the future.

      Shame, it was a great place years ago. All sorts available and very relaxed. A local took me to a shabeen when I was in Penang in 1970, said we’d drink some local ‘beer’. It was fermented coconut juice, and tasted absolutely disgusting. Ha! I only went the once. Stuck to the opium dens after that – much nicer. Still, I expect both the shabeen and the dens have been closed down for a while now. They’ve got very authoritarian over the years, from what I’ve read.

      • nisakiman says:

        Ah, just remembered, Harley. (Sorry, this is very off-topic). I came across a collection of photos that I think you will find very interesting, as a VN Vet.

        http://tresites.com/hinhanh/var/albums/VI%E1%BB%86T-NAM-X%C6%AFA/

        There’s hundreds of photos. Quite a few are not for the faint-hearted, as they show things as they really were, rather than the sanitised stuff we got to see in the papers. I’ve found them fascinating, and I’m only part way through. I was in Asia in the late 60s, and met both guys who’d gone AWOL from VN, and also guys on R&R (in Bangkok). I was very aware of what was going down at the time, so was pleased to have found these photos. Hope you find them as interesting as I have.

        • harleyrider1978 says:

          Actually Im not a nam vet,my dad was a korean war vet and I lived on camp legune marine base during most of vietnam. Having had 6 uncles who fought there. three were in the tet offensive in 68. I was a veteran of gulf war 1 seabees we built the road from ryhiad up to the kuwaiti border and caught shelling as we got within range. We had some sniper fire for awhile from a bunker but 3 shots from our 80mm mortar silenced it. Then I was stuck on a 50 cal machine gun until the invasion began. Never saw so much armor in my life as there! My problem was I had been Tick bit back in Mississippi on FEX Combat field excercises and had contracted LYME DISEASE. I had it for 3 years before being diagnosed along with probably 15 other guys in the battallion. I was shortly medically retired after that with 14 years active duty. Today I fight the nazis,I guess ya could say its in my blood…….

        • harleyrider1978 says:

          Excellent photos nisakiman

          I dont have the photos but 2 of my uncles have quite an album of battle photos from Tet Uncle Carrol up in henderson ky has the most. I talked to him last summer and he asked me can ya still shoot that 6 gun like that day at the old homestead,his dads farm. I said yep. He was quite impressed that day I was there having fast drawn and shot 5 bottles in succession on a single draw in fan fire. It was at about 75 feet. I cant really hit 5 str8 now but I did nail 4 last week out back. Good days hell ya,but on bad days lucky to hit 2 in sucession out of 5. But its always nice to be able to do at the time it counts like the first time when ya favorite uncles watching.

  4. harleyrider1978 says:

    Smokers get fewer hours sleep and a lower quality of rest than non-smokers, scientists claim17% of smokers get fewer than six hours of sleep each night, compared with just 7% of non smokers
    28% of smokers reported ‘disturbed’ sleep, while only 19% of non-smokers felt their sleep was poor quality

    By Katy Winter
    PUBLISHED: 05:05 EST, 14 September 2012 | UPDATED: 05:05 EST, 14 September 2012
    Comments (3) Share

    ..Smokers may get fewer hours of sleep and have less restful slumber than non-smokers, according to study.

    Researchers found that of nearly 1,100 smokers surveyed, 17 per cent got fewer than six hours of sleep each night and 28 per cent reported ‘disturbed’ sleep quality.

    That compared with rates of 7 per cent and 19 per cent respectively among more than 1,200 non-smokers who were also surveyed.

    Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2203140/Smokers-fewer-hours-sleep-lower-quality-rest-non-smokers-scientists-claim.html#ixzz26RmFiuYc

    • churchmouse says:

      Thanks for that. I get eight hours and sleep like a log. Never found that smoking disturbed my sleep.

      • churchmouse says:

        Did you see the three comments following the article? All positive for smoking! Apparently, even the Duchess of Cambridge enjoys it now and then, according to the first comment.

        • harleyrider1978 says:

          Umm the first 2 are mine………..I couldnt help myself as I just found a story that the duchess had been photoed topless with her husband in france along whilst smoking!

        • churchmouse says:

          I thought that was you but wasn’t sure. :) Anyway, good on you for getting in there first!

      • Messalina says:

        Me too. I have a cup of tea and a cigarette before going to sleep and I sleep like a log.
        Thanks Daily Mail, for more useless information! Yawn…we already know that smoking causes every disease under the sun. What will they invent next, I wonder!

    • nisakiman says:

      I normally sleep 5 – 6 hours a night, but I sleep soundly, and feel refreshed and ready for the day when I awake.

      Apparently Mrs Thatcher slept 5 hours max, but I don’t recollect ever seeing her with a fag in her mouth. Mind you, I think Denis was a smoker, so maybe she used to have a crafty one (or more) when they were knocking back a few G&Ts together in the evening.

  5. harleyrider1978 says:

    The royal skin being exposed along with smoking leads everyone to believe their just humans like the rest of us lower classes. That I like ,but the paparazzi need to be umm shot! Privacy even for royals should be respected. Poor Prince Harry banished to the war zone for having a lil fun. Cant anyone take a joke anymore.

No need to log in

